AVS Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, i'm new here looking for help on a speaker decesion. I've narrowed my choices to these 2 speakers. It will mainly be used for movies/tv viewing. The room is an open loft on the 2nd floor which is open to the 1st floor. Seating is about 10'-12' away. The speakers will be on a cabinet/shelf (11"h x 17"w x 20"d)

I know the s30 is ported and AZ sealed, is one better than the other since they will be on a shelf. This will be for a 5.1 movie set up.

If I need to provide more info let me know, i'm still new to this. Thanks!

·
Registered
166 Posts
The s30 gets my vote but I'm biased. I've never listened to the AZ.

Just make sure the s30 is positioned at least 12" away from the wall or flushed with the front of the cabinet. Also put some rubber feet towards the front, bottom of the speakers to tilt them upwards since the cabinet/shelf is low.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the replies! I've actually been reading that thread and leaning towards the S30. Just getting last minute options. What concerns me is the port in the rear of the S30.

What are the pros and cons for ported vs sealed in bookshelf speakers?

·
Registered
3,575 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by 702prodigy /forum/post/20843152

Rear-ported won't sound good if placed too close to a wall. Sealed and front-ported and generally OK.

·
Registered
20,336 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by 702prodigy /forum/post/20843152

Thanks for the replies! I've actually been reading that thread and leaning towards the S30. Just getting last minute options. What concerns me is the port in the rear of the S30.

If you read the thread - you know my vote. If the Cambridge has around

12" from the back wall - you will be OK. Also, make sure they have a little

room to the left and right of the speaker.

·
Registered
2,226 Posts