AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I'm extremely new to hifi systems, until the start of the year all I owned was a set of cambridge microworks pc speakers... no hifi to speak of so bear with me please :)

I just spotted in a local private forum someone selling a set of A-20's and a C-20 Center along with their respective amplifiers. He's asking $1400 Aussie dolllars, which is about $900usd, but keep in mind we pay double usually when buying speakers or receivers from what I've seen :(

I was wondering some opinions on the value for money and quality of these speakers, and I guess too their reliability, since I'll be pretty screwed if the amp ever carks it. I'll be using them with a Luxman LR2500RS receiver, which has pre-outs (I think these are what I need ?).

Will using active speakers mean volume control becomes even more of a pain? Or should I be able to set them to a certain level and then control everything from the receivers volume control without any issues?

The final thing is these are going to be used in a very small room, and probably placed only 30-40cm or less away from both a tv and a 21" computer monitor, would they be adequately shielded?

The specs on these speakers sound amazing, but I'm just wondering if the cost + extra space and effort involved with them being active with their own amps justifies things... please any opinions would be greatly appreciated :)

Thanks,

Jonathan

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Has nobody ever used these? :(

I went to demo them today, I did hear some things in the music I was listening to that I hadn't noticed/heard before, but by the same token the speakers didn't blow me away, and some tracks sounded worse than my car stereo, it seemed like sometimes the vocals were a bit too weak and drowned out by all the other stuff going on...

Thanks for any thoughts,

Jonathan

·
Premium Member
7,226 Posts