AVS Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Banned
Joined
·
7,964 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had to remove my AVR from between my ATI Video Card and my TV. My Vid Card now plugs directly into the TV. Now, when I turn the TV off then back on again, I get an error saying there are no audio devices and I cannot play TV. I am going to try a bunch of things, but I figured I would post and see if any of you smart gents have heard of this issue and know an easy fix.



FIXED - Going to the 12.6 beta drivers fixed the problem!!!!! I am going to test all my applications to make sure they still work - but so far Live TV works, which was the main problem. I downloaded AMD Catalyst 12.x (8.980.0 June 4) Unofficial BETA - 06-06-2012, from guru3d.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
7,964 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I have discoverd the audio device completely vanishes from Windows altogether...it shows there are NO audio devices after I turn the TV off then back on again.


Additional info and what I have done (which has all failed):


1. Disabled the AMD External Event Service - no change

2. Ensured the ATI Audio Device is set to Stereo when it is available - no change

3. Tried HDMIon - no change (though the video did go black and return, the audio stayed away



The only way to restore the audio is to either reboot the PC after the TV is turned on or unplug the HDMI cable and plug it back in.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
7,964 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I turned the AMD External service back on - no change.

I installed MonInfo, created an inf file when the audio was working, installed it as the new driver - no change (I have attached it here incase someone can use it)
Panasonic.inf.txt 3k .txt file


HELP! This is only for a few days, so I do not want to buy a GEFEN...surely this cannot be a normal thing...
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
470 Posts
There was a topic with some hints to restart HDMI audio. To lazy to find it myself but you can find it my message history ))

Also, you can try to change display refresh rate 23 > 60 or something like that. I use this method to restart HDMI audio.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,650 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by cybrsage  /t/1414990/no-audio-devices-after-turning-tv-off-then-back-on/0_40#post_22119853


I turned the AMD External service back on - no change.

I installed MonInfo, created an inf file when the audio was working, installed it as the new driver - no change (I have attached it here incase someone can use it)
Panasonic.inf.txt 3k .txt file

HELP! This is only for a few days, so I do not want to buy a GEFEN...surely this cannot be a normal thing...

Does 'Playback Devices' show a Red 'X'?

Try changing inputs on your TV, it works on my AVR. Boot into the HTPC, then while the HMDI is connected, switch inputs on your TV (using remote, not physical input) and come back to the HTPC input.

Maybe try a different/older driver?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,275 Posts
What Cat version are you using? It seems 12.3, 12.4 have some issues with hdmi.


I have the HD7750 and have been using 12.6 beta which has worked almost flawlessly. You might want to try it and see.


Rew
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
7,964 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I have tried changing inputs on the TV - no fix

The speaker shows a red X on it.


I will try the 12.6 Cats - I am currently using 12.4 Downloading AMD Catalyst 12.x (8.980.0 June 4) Unofficial BETA - 06-06-2012, 07:39 | posts: 344

from guru3d now.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,275 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by cybrsage  /t/1414990/no-audio-devices-after-turning-tv-off-then-back-on#post_22120453


I have tried changing inputs on the TV - no fix

The speaker shows a red X on it.

I will try the 12.6 Cats - I am currently using 12.4 Downloading AMD Catalyst 12.x (8.980.0 June 4) Unofficial BETA - 06-06-2012, 07:39 | posts: 344

from guru3d now.

I am using 12.6 Beta AMD Catalyst 12.6 BETA (8.980.0 May 22) not the unofficial beta. Not sure if that will make any difference or not but to let you know.


Rew
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
7,964 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Going to the 12.6 beta drivers fixed the problem!!!!! I do not know if the official ones would have fixed it, but so far these are good. I am going to test all my applications to make sure they still work - but so far Live TV works, which was the main problem.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,275 Posts
Glade to hear it! I know they worked for me after several months of strange HDMI switching and PC resume from sleep behavior.


Cheers

Rew
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
262 Posts
Yeah, they 12.6 Beta drivers fixed it for me as well. Before that I had to either restart my receiver or replug my HDMI cable to get the audio back.
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top