AVS Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Apologies if this is the wrong forum.

This is my first time looking into buying high-er-ish quality equipment and I have no idea what to get.

I live in an apartment building with neighbors above and below. Apartment is 1400 SF with a bedroom, large joint kitchen + living room, and guest bedroom.

I don't care about TV / video. I care a lot about music. Multiroom would be nice but not at significant sacrifice of sound quality.

Budget around $1.5k -- I know the sky's the limit with speakers and what-not but this is what I'm comfortable spending.

I listen to things in the post punk / punk / noise / indie / hip hop realm.

In my current listening situations (connecting to a laptop with my crappy bluetooth headphones) I am maniacal about using a software graphic EQ to tune things to my liking.

What setup should I be investigating? From what I can tell it seems like a couple floor standing speakers, a receiver that supports a wireless protocol, and an amp might do the trick. Am I on the right track?

·
Registered
8,499 Posts
buy a sub w/biggest part of budget...then go from there...maybe elac

·
Registered
1,403 Posts
With your musical tastes, a subwoofer in the middle of an apartment complex is a recipe for police calls.
Yup but "high-er-ish" AVR's can stop the sub travel somewhat, however budget here will be limiting anyway?

$1500 budget is not much when starting with nothing, going more like mid-level to lower.

My take for just audio
Denon AVRX2400H $599 (bluetooth and wireless options are great with this)
Klipsch Reference R-10SW 10" 300w Powered Subwoofer $299
Klipsch RF-62 II Reference Series Floorstanding Loudspeakers $499

So that person should go to a local store like BB and sample, as speakers are a personal thing and test out what works for ones ears and budget. One should also keep in mind space / audio traveling when in an apartment like you pointed out.