AVS Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
296 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey THT vet's... I'm looking for some opinions based on experience of owning/operating one of these giants. I've been trying to talk myself out of one for a month now, but I'm losing the fight. I'm basically a sub noob, but I know I'm handy enough to handle building any of the subs I've seen so far. My last 2 subs were pretty tiny, 10" velodyne i got for cheap, and then a newer 8"psb sub... both completely unremarkable, I don't think I've heard anything under 30hz yet... but I do live in an apartment.

Anyhow I'm going to be living in a Townhouse soon(sharing walls with neighbors). It's better than my apartment, and at least the walls are poured concrete down in the basement where my HT will be. Flanking will still be an issue I'm sure, I have no idea how much.

The room size will be about 30x20. I'm only using about half of that for my HT (15x20), however as of right now it's an open space and I doubt I will be building a wall. I really would prefer a nice 12" sealed sub in a 2 cu box for looks, also it would probably be more practical but all everybody talks about is the THT around here so it's kind of tough to ignore.... and I'm curious.

I'm not going to be able to use a THT at anywhere near the levels the majority of you guys get to...do you think this will still be worth it if I need to essentially cripple it and play it at a fraction of the levels...will I still get nice clean bass that can at least go into the 18-20'sh hz range even at low volumes.

Or am I better off finding a quality sealed design that probably fits my needs better. I'm not opposed to even building 2 smaller subs.

Basically i'm looking for opinions on how to get great bass for cheap, while listening to it at lower than normal volumes. THT seems to be at the top of the list in the "bang for buck" category so that's why it's my focus right now.

Thanks in advance for any/all advice.

·
Registered