AVS Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to plasma TVs and am looking to upgrade to a TV a bit bigger (and hopefully of higher quality) than my 32" Vizio LCD (which I am happy with) in anticipation of receiving an Xbox 360 for Christmas. I'll be using the TV primarily for gaming on the 360 as well as SD DVD's and over the air antenna TV (so only primetime and sports are in HD). The viewing distance is about 7.5' and the room can be made dim to dark depending on the time of the day. In trying to determine if a plasma would be a good fit, I'm trying to find answers to the following questions.

I've searched and looked through stickys but my assumption is that these answers change over time with new technology, and most threads I have seen have been old.

1. Is image retention and burn-in no longer a problem? I've heard both answers. I'll be doing a lot of gaming with games with static HUDs undoubtedly. Most TV (well at least half) is in SD with black bars around the sides. Most DVDs these days still seem to have horizontal bars as well. I don't want to have to crank up the brightness to make the bars gray or use zoom features to remove the bars that distort the proportions.

2. Do the current model Panasonics continue to have problems with sudden risings in the blacks? Has this been fixed at all?

I honestly want a TV that's going to work fine out of the box. I don't want to have to go through elaborate break-in procedures and maintenance procedures to prevent burn-in. I don't want to have to restrict what I play or watch on the TV. If I want to play 5 hours of the 360 on the day I pull the TV out of the box, I want to be able to do that without worrying about image retention and burn-in.

Am I having unrealistic expectations for a plasma TV? Or could this work out?

·
Registered
2,572 Posts
Panasonic supposidly has gradual rising blacks now.