AVS Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. I'm a projector newbie. I am buying a house with a living room with a LOT of light, and peaked ceiling. It;'s all modern and open concept, yada, yada... which is awesome from a feeling perspective.... However, it has a perfect huge wall for a very large screen. I've got a good 12-15 feet throw distance possible (or could go closer as necessary). Personally, my viewing habits have come down to BIGGER, BIGGER, BIGGER.

In order of importance:

1. Size

2. Budget

3. Clarity

4. Sound

So my main question: is a projector even a good idea? Or do I just go with a Sharp 80 inch LED type thing? I'd rather have 120+ inch screen, honestly. But if the light is just going to make it not worthwhile, then no point spending money.

Follow-up questions, if a projector could work... given my preferences noted above:

1. From a set-up perspective, is it possible to do it all wireless? There is no opportunity really to run wires from inputs to the projector or even one wire from receiver to projector. Is wireless possible, and if so what is the impact in terms of picture quality loss?

2. Can anyone recommend the best total set-up for $3k - $5k budget? I'm not ever sure what all components I'd need. But again, VERY light room, need wireless, and the preferences above. I'm assuming projector, screen, receiver, and maybe a soundbar (I don't really care a ton about sound. Honestly what I like the most about sounds is a VERY clear direct sound - meaning I can hear people talk. I'm almost annoyed by all the surround sound these days. I like surround, but not when it drowns out my ability to hear dialogue).

Our watching preferences aren't that complex. TV, sports, Appletv, Blue Ray. No gaming.

THANKS!

JZ

·
Registered
7,073 Posts
Don't spend the money, a projector makes no sense as the primary display.