AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. I am a complete novice with this stuff, so feel free to tease/flame/make fun of me

Objective: I'd like to create an enjoyable home theatre system for:
  • Gaming
  • PS3 Video Content: Blu-ray, DVD, Netflix
  • Media Server Content: ps3media server transcoding
  • MP3 listening
  • Cable TV

While spending around: $1200 total.

Existing Equipment
  • Samsung LED 46" 6000 Series (120hz)
  • Playstation 3
  • 15 year old $100 sony home-theatre-in-a-box 5.1 system...lol

Reciever Selection

I have budgeted around $450 to spend on the reciever. As such I'm comparing:
  • Onkyo TX-NR609
  • Denon AVR-891
  • Pioneer VSX-1020-K
  • YAMAHA RX-V471

My current inclination is torwards the Denon. However, I have the following questions:

1) I'm told 7.1(2) formats are hardly supported by current media, that for most content the receiver will have to interpret the 2 extra channels. And that there isn't even an agreed upon configuration of speaker positioning.

If that is so, is 7.1 worth it? I really don't have the budget for 7 good speakers now so if it is worth it, can I only plug 5.1 in now and expand later?

2) Is video up-conversion REALLY worth it? The Yamaha RX-V471 does not support it but I have trouble rationalizing the need for it. I just fail to understand how a computer can add content! I believe my PS3 will upconvert my DVDs and Netflix, my media server content is transcoded, so that leaves only TV--which I don't watch all that much anyway.

3) How well do these auto-configurations like AUDDESY work? I see theres an entire thread with many pages here so I know they are used but, seems to me that I'll have to fine tune anyway (granted, like I said I'm an audio noob! haha)

Speaker Selection