AVS Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am new to all of this and have a noob question.

I have an optoma hd65 projector and I am going to use behr silverscreen paint. I have dark walls and ceiling and absolutely no light. (no windows, just a door that goes to a dark hallway in my basement)

So the question. do i use flat, semi-gloss or high gloss paint? i know most people use flat but since I have no light would semi-gloss look better?

Also, what color primer do I use underneath? I think im going to use some kind of white board to paint on, havent decided yet. any suggestions?

Thank you in advance

·
Registered
7,040 Posts
You want to use a flat finish. Use a white primer such as Kilz 2 latex. The board doesn't have to be white. Depending on your screen size, you can use hardboard, MDF, etc. I think Behr Silverscreen would be too dark for your room. Anyone else?

·
Registered
219 Posts
As Jim McC stated you want to use a flat paint. Even though you have great ambient light control a gloss finish will result in hotspotting from your projector.

If your screen is going to be 90" or less then Thrifty White Board is a good surface to start with or just regular hardboard if you are priming and rolling silverscreen.

·
Registered
14 Posts
I used Silverscreen at our old house with my HD70, and had excellent results. Even totally dark, or with some ambient light.

You will want to mix the Silverscreen with Behr Ultra Pure White(UPW) #1050. It's their flat latex base.

Use a low nap roller, and be sure the wall, or board, is smooth.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
how much of the white latex do I add to a quart of silverscreen?

My screen is going to be 110", so what kind of board can I get that big for the screen?

Thanks

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC /forum/post/18300695