AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm a noob..

I am really intrigued by the DIY sub build idea. I have seen people post over and over about how fantastic a pair of HT-18's in Martysub boxes (or easier pre-cut flat packs) powered by an Inuke 3000dsp amp would be be. I'm on a tight budget and I need to spend more on construction supplies for my room before I start shelling out for subs.. but I can't get it out of my head. The value proposition that everyone keeps talking about here has me really excited.

A few more details. I'm working on my first ever HT build. I'm doing double wall construction with double layer drywall and green glue and a double layer ceiling on clips and channel. This is in my basement, but my house has very poor soundproofing to being with, so I'm going the extra mile on the soundproofing. It's a small room since I'm limited by some structural issues. It will be about 11' wide by 22' long with barely a 7' ceiling. I believe I will have about 24" of space behind a false wall, but I haven't built the wall yet so I could squeeze another 6" inches if needed.
My past experience with subs is very limited. I have a single JBL ES250PBK in my current living room setup. It certainly improves the overall sound by adding some lower notes, but I can't turn it up very loud because the distortion gets really bad.. so it's really just a fill-in. I have a friend with a powered 12" and a passive 10" in separate corners of the room and it's definitely better than my setup.. But nothing like the dual 18" idea that I'm considering.

So, if I could bore the group with a few questions..