AVS Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
775 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
On the back of my receiver there are pre-amp outputs (I think thats what they are, im at work now so doing this off of memory), what are those for? also if my receiver puts out 120 watts or so per channel why use amps?

·
Registered
12 Posts
I'm not really an expert either, but I'll try and answer to the best of my ability.

Those pre-outs hook up to your amplifier. There's separate RCA hookups for each channel.

I can think of a few reason's to use a separate amplifier. The biggest one is more power. Many receivers that advertise a certain power rating can't actually sustain that power continuously over all channels. It's more like peak power through one channel.

Another reason is future-proofing. You could go nuts and spend a ton of money on a powerful AVR, but when it comes time to replace that unit, either for new features or because it broke, you're going to have to pay that same cost again. Amps, on the other hand, rarely change, and good ones are generally very reliable. This means that when you need a new processor, you don't have to take power into account, and save a little money by opting for cheaper, less powerful models. You also open up the option of buying stand-alone pre processors, though, surprisinglyh, these cost more than receivers.

Also, if you're driving inefficient, low impedance speakers, you've got to worry about the excess current cooking your receiver. A good amp will handle them without any problems.

Lastly, amps maintain their value, as the technology behind them doesn't change very much.

·
Registered
775 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·