Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here. I have a few questions:

1. I watched some normal cable tv channels at a friend's place w/ 50" Plasma. He has a Pioneer PDP-503MX (1024x768 native) Normal TV is very fuzzy! DVD was great. I wonder why people like Plasma so much? (He does not have line doubler nor DTV)

2. I want to buy the MyHD card and hook up for OTA and cable tv to it. I read MyHD can upconvert to 1080i. Is that the same as having line doubler / Scalar (since it will be more than doubled)? Without knowing much, I think convert to 480p would be best for viewing cable tv because less upconvert and will be progressive?

3. Why the standards 720p, 1080i? I can understand 480i and 480p signals with matching 480 lines plasma tv. But 720p when maps to a 480 lines screen, 1.5 lines of signal has to map to 1 screen line. At 1080, it's 2.25 lines map to 1 line. Why not make things simple by having 480i, 480p, 960p?

4. Simular question to #3. i can understand plasma tv with 480 lines to match 480p. But why there are plasma tv with 768 lines? 768 lines does not match *ANY* of the standard. Therefore you *ALWAYS* lost image quality because of convertion.

5. MyHD card can output progressive from any source signal format. ie, if I feed in cable tv it can output 480p. Does that means there is no need to run dScalar?

6. If I convert a signal using MyHD to output to 480p. That means the plasma tv still has to map the 480p to the native 768 lines. Therefore there is 2 conversion happened. 1st, converted by MyHD. 2nd, converted by the TV. Would it be better to use MyHD to watch signal at computer full screen (which is 1024x768) then feed the computer SVGA direct to plasma? Then there is only 1 conversion and will use the plasma native 1024x768, hence less lost during conversion.

Thanks.

·
Registered
271 Posts