AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
418 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need some help here. I am new to the separates world of pre amps and amps so I could use some help.

I have a Yamaha RXV 3200 receiver which is the second from the top of the line as far as Yamaha receivers go. It outputs 120 watts per channel RMS times six channels.

I am wanting to go the separates route and get a nice amp and use the Yamaha for the Pre/Pro for now as it is a good processor and I need to save up until the next unpaged.

I was able to demo a Sunfire Cinema Grand Signature series II in my house against the Yamaha. The Sunfire is rated at 425 watts per channel times 5. Now don't get me wrong I am not trying to down any particular product, I just need some input as to weather I should go a different route.

I was expecting a big improvement as the Sunfire retails for about $4000. I did not hear that much improvement. I do have to say that at very loud levels like 100db It was cleaner and more detailed, but at normal levels of about 80 db I did not hear much difference between the two. Not enough to justify the investment.

I used an SPL meter and the DTS dvd of the Eagles, Hell freezes over which I think is very well done. I played both at the same levels and like I said at high levels like 100db the sunfire was much cleaner and detailed but I will not be listening that high very often, but I do want the headroom to be able to get great clear high volume when I want it .

My question is what other amplifiers do people use that can really shine over my Yamaha receiver ? Am I expecting too much ? It seems that either I have a very nice amp in the Yamaha already or the Sunfire is not all I hoped it to be.

At 400 watts per channel and $4000 I would expect a very big improvement and I just don't hear it.