AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
272 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Adding my pleas to those other newbies out there for some guidance in video card selection....

I've been running an HTPC for a couple of years now. I've primarily dedicated it to music server status until now. A few months ago, I lost the use of my stand-alone Denon 3800 DVD player for a while and discovered that TheaterTek 1.5 was a really nice piece of playback software for my DVDs.

I'd like to move more fully into the video playback area of HTPCs. I've read many threads on video card recommendations, ffdshow, etc., etc. I've managed to eke out a small list of things I think I would like to do, but am baffled on how to actually select a new video card.

I'm really a hard-core Macintosh user. There, we take what video card Steve gives us and we LIKE it. :)

I'm currently running:

Asus P4B-533VM motherboard (AGP 4x, 3PCI slots)

1.8GHz P4

Radeon 7000VE (VGA & composite outs)

M-Audio Delta DiO 24/96

512MB RAM

80GB Barracuda IV

120GB Barracuda V

Windows 2000 SP4

ATI Catalyst 4.9 drivers

Everything is packed into a relatively small "equipment-style" case. The motherboard is mATX (micro-ATX) form factor, and I like that everything is so compact. The setup drives a standard 15in monitor, my basic 20in TV & my Sanyo PLV60HT (native resolution 1368x768--generally run as 1360x768)

I'm primarily interested in upgrading the video card and possibly the processor. I like the size of things the way they are configured now. I'm also happy with my thermal/noise performance. I find I only need to run the CPU heatsink fan with my setup--and that is generally undervolted. My PCI slots are filled with the sound card, a FireWire card, and beginning tomorrow, a 1000base-T ethernet card.