AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 882 Posts

·
Registered
374 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

Hi,

Thought I would start a Chase Home Theater Owners Thread since it was pointed out that there was none currently on AVS. I am still a relative beginner so all I can promise is to be more of a burden than a guide...
. So all you more experienced owners, feel free to post impressions, tips, graphs etc..etc.

·
Registered
627 Posts
Cool deal Matman1970. Have been a very happy owner of a single 18.2 for some time now, was one of the first ones to get one. All I can say is it still has that same wow and enjoyment factor for me as when I first got it. The one thing that has happened is I find myself listening to more music CD's and DVD's than before. Working on getting a second one with the wife...yeah good luck with that!

·
Registered
374 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I am still in the formative stages of setting up 5 SHO-10's and a 18.T. But I won't let that stop me from posting some strictly subjective thoughts:

Well the other day I wired up the front stage (3 SHO's) and the 18.T and level matched them with the Rat Shack. No EQ yet. Naturally, I had to listen to them even in this preliminary stage. I used Fantasia 2000 on BD. The sound was HUGE and clean at VERY HIGH levels(I'll get more on this later) I used the tin soldier part with the Shostakovich 2nd piano concerto which is very dynamic. I figured this would be even more demanding for actual SQ than the usual exploding stuff movie scene. It was fantastic, it was a very in your face feeling, not in a bad way, more like you are sitting in the middle of a symphony orchestra while they are playing their ass off.