AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 234 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Would someone please start a thread on this machine from panasonic?


I just replaced my BD60 with this "little Guy" and it is a very good machine.


Thanks


Chris
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,353 Posts
I am confused of whether or not the new Panasonic BD75 can do network straming with Pandora. According to specs of this from bebstbuy it seems like it doesnt. If not, do any Panasonic BD plays do pandora?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
216 Posts
My Panasonic DMP-BD65, the previous generation, does Pandora great. It's part of the Viera Cast package.


For 2011 Music, they are supposed to add ShoutCast and Napster.

For 2011 video, they are supposed to add Hulu Plus, USStream, Break.com.

For 2011 apps, Facebook, and APNews Wire.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,281 Posts
Unlike the 65, this appears to be a very bare-bones player with no Viera Cast capability. It does have a few services like Netflix, Cinema Now and Vudu. I see no evidence it has Pandora (not in the manual or any ad copy anywhere). On the plus side it does have DLNA, which could probably provide Pandora with the right server.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,353 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by comixguru /forum/post/20247155


My Panasonic DMP-BD65, the previous generation, does Pandora great. It's part of the Viera Cast package.


For 2011 Music, they are supposed to add ShoutCast and Napster.

For 2011 video, they are supposed to add Hulu Plus, USStream, Break.com.

For 2011 apps, Facebook, and APNews Wire.

The 65 has been around for awhile, you mean they have been doing upgrades of sorts to allow for all this? That is cool if so.


I also have the Panny TC32LX700 LCD as well...does that help couple the Viera Cast package at all?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott /forum/post/20288587


can anyone confirm or deny full BD backups (MKV) being able to play over DLNA to this?

Interested in this as well. Wanting to know if I can stream mkv from PC with this player.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Is it true that this player will only output decoded Dolby TrueHD in 2 channels through PCM? I read this in the tech specs. How about for DTS HD-MA? I can't bitstream to my HK AVR 247 so I need a BD player to do the decoding.


I'm interested in a fast bare-bones BD player but this audio issue would be a deal-breaker for me.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
38 Posts
I just got mine this week and am experiencing a very unusual problem. Any help thinking this through would be greatly appreciated.


The unit works perfectly fine until I plug in my ethernet cable. Within two seconds of plugging in the ethernet cable the device locks up. I've even updated to FW 1.19 manually hoping that it would fix the issue. So I took it back to Best Buy and had them test it. It worked on their network just fine.


So I took it back home to try it again. I am replacing a DMP-BD60 so I hooked it up and tested the same cable to be sure it wasn't just the new 75 having the problem. The 60 worked fine.


I have a D-Link DAP-1522 Xtreme N Duo Bridge/AP running in bridge mode downstairs in the living room where I have these two units. I haven't had any trouble with the bridge or any device connected to it up until now.


I decided to take the unit upstairs to my theater room where my Linksys E3000 Dual-band N router is and plugged it directly into it. At first it locked up. After unplugging the device to get it to reset a couple of times it just started to work.


The only two things I can think of is that it might have something to do with the D-Link bridge or my WHS machine which is the ethernet cable I unplugged from the router to connect the 75. It says in the 75 manual that the DLNA capabilities only work with Windows 7 machines. Surely just having a non-W7 machine on the network would cause the 75 problems, right?


I'm stumped. I've checked settings in my router and in the bridge to see if there was anything that stood out to me as to why this would be happening. Nothing that I could see.


Any recommendations or thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated. I love how fast the boot-up is on this machine and I really love the Netflix/Vudu/DLNA capabilities if I can get it to work. Otherwise it's not worth it and I'll take it back.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
38 Posts
I'm stumped. I tested again this morning. With my WHS unplugged from the network the DMP-BD7 works perfectly fine. Netflix and Vudu work perfect. While I was playing a show on Netflix I plugged in my WHS back in and the device locked up. What's the deal? Anybody have any ideas?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
38 Posts
I just got off the phone with Panasonic and they were not helpful in any way. The guy was pleasant but didn't seam to understand the problem at all. He consulted with someone else and they told me they thought it was a bandwidth issue. So they told me to contact Microsoft for support.


I don't know why bandwidth issues would cause the entire device to lock completely up. Even if there was a bottleneck using the bridge but it's connecting via N on the 5GHZ band whereas the only other wireless devices on my network are our phones and my wife's laptop and they connect on the 2.4GHZ band. I am no expert on this stuff. I have got to be missing something.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
While I'm relieved to find someone else experiencing this issue, I too am stumped at the cause. Like JSampsell I recently purchased this unit in hopes of streaming some content from my WHS as well as playing BDs. I also updated to the latest firmware using their alternate CDR method. The unit operates just dandy until I plug it in to my new TrendNet Gigabit Router at which point it locks up as described above. I have an older 100base router that I will try tonight. BTW this is the second unit I have from BB with this issue so I believe it is not a unique flaw. When this second unit (I exchanged the first one) exhibited the same symptoms I took it back and like the previous poster the Geeks connected it to their network just fine. I suspect that there is some network negotiation beyond DHCP which is returning unexpected data and hanging the BD75. Anyone else?

-Terry
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
38 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by AWimsey /forum/post/20322472


While I'm relieved to find someone else experiencing this issue, I too am stumped at the cause. Like JSampsell I recently purchased this unit in hopes of streaming some content from my WHS as well as playing BDs. I also updated to the latest firmware using their alternate CDR method. The unit operates just dandy until I plug it in to my new TrendNet Gigabit Router at which point it locks up as described above. I have an older 100base router that I will try tonight. BTW this is the second unit I have from BB with this issue so I believe it is not a unique flaw. When this second unit (I exchanged the first one) exhibited the same symptoms I took it back and like the previous poster the Geeks connected it to their network just fine. I suspect that there is some network negotiation beyond DHCP which is returning unexpected data and hanging the BD75. Anyone else?

-Terry

Terry, I finally decided to try a different model completely. I don't really want to spend the additional money for things that I don't use (3D being the main one) but I don't believe this issue will be resolved any time soon on their bottom of the line unit. As a Bluray player it is great. Even at the $100 retail price point.


I've ordered the other unit and will pick it up tonight. I'll test it and return one or the other based on my findings. Maybe even both. I've used Panasonic stuff for a few years now and this was the first thing that gave me this much hassle.


It makes absolutely no sense that the unit freezes up completely just because a WHS is connected to your network. Whether the DLNA compatability is an issue with non-Windows7 OSs or not, it shouldn't completely freeze the unit if there's a non-Windows7 machine with an OS on the network. Actually, I've forgotten until now that my wife's laptop is Vista and the unit works fine with the WHS unplugged but the Vista laptop on the network. So it's not really that it's a non-Windows7 OS. It appears to be directly related to WHS for some reason. I wish I knew more about WHS to troubleshoot but I don't. I know it's a version of Server 2003 but I'm not sure if it has some special services that run by default that could cause the issue. I even installed Serviio which is supposedly a DLNA-compliant media server software and turned off file sharing in the WHS control center settings.


Anyway, long story short, I'm tired of racking my brain over stuff that Panasonic really should have thought through and had fixed prior to releasing the unit. I'm just going to move on. Good luck finding a fix.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
38 Posts
Alright, I found that Best Buy had the DMP-BDT210 on sale online for $20 more than the 110 so I bought that yesterday. Hooked it up and it worked immediately. Even the media from Serviio on my WHS. I tested multiple file formats and all worked perfectly. I do not have any MKV files so I didn't get to test that. I would have loved to have had this functionality at the $100 price point of the 75 but it just wouldn't work and I didn't want to wait. Again, good luck to those of you who want to tinker with the 75.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
292 Posts
Sold my PS3 and looking at BD75 as a "cheaper" replacement. Question is, will it output PCM? My Marantz receiver only does PCM and not native TruHD or DTS HD.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
38 Posts
By the way, I actually found out something that could be of use. I have an old Netflix account which is too close to my new account and happens to have the same password. I know, I'm going to fix that before it continues to be a problem. Anyway, I put in my old account information at the Netflix setup screen and since my old account is not active the only option it gave on the screen was "Restart". When you click "Restart" it takes you to a screen where you can edit your account information (credit card included) and then authorize to begin billing you again for that account. Since that's not what I wanted to do and there was nothing that said "Cancel" or "Go back", I called Netflix.


To reset at that point you have to do a sequence of up/down/left/right arrow keys on the remote. I thought it was quite funny but the sequence is up, up, down, down, left, right, left, right, up, up, up, up. Kind of like an old Nintendo cheat code.


Anyhow, most people probably won't ever have this issue but at least you know what to do if you need it.
 
1 - 20 of 234 Posts
Top