AVS Forum banner

42641 - 42660 of 64785 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,459 Posts
Have overall loved my Vizio P65 so far in the last 3 or so days I've owned it, but I already ran into a major issue and it's worrying it happened in the first 3 days of owning said TV. When I called up Vizio, they said they hadn't heard of this problem before....

Wow, so I continued watching the Roku show, and it just froze again. The phone service representative said maybe it was the Roku's issue. Could a Roku really make its frozen image appear under other inputs, though, after a TV supposedly is powered off?
It sounds like a Roku stick issue to me. Roku stick gen1 or gen2? Make sure you don't have Subsampling On since the stick doesn't support it. I'd suggest removing the Roku for now and restart the set and practice your new Casting skills and HDMI input switching. I use the Roku Ultra and it is always on if you switch to its HDMI port. Good luck.

Edit: If you really want to make sure the P series is off use the included remote or the power button on the back. When the set is off you won't see any image (unless your set has a broken on/off circuit).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
223 Posts
The problem is that everyone is used to just plugging in an HDMI cable and having it work, this was true with HD video for the most part, ARC and CEC always were flaky and only worked part of the time.

With the advent of 4K, Wide Color Gamet and HDR this has pushed HDMI 2.0 to it's limit and a lot of things don't work well together.

Now everyone is getting excited about HDMI 2.1 but that is going to be a lot worse, technology can barely make an 18Ghz video signal work and now they are going to try and make HDMI 2.1 run at 48Ghz and be backward compatible with HDMI 2.0. Even if they limit it to a 3 foot cable it is going to be hell try to make it work properly.
The mediatek cables did not work. This is not a cable issue I am having. I have tried over 12 I'm done. I called Vizio, the tech knew right away about it but didn't seem to know details. Eventually told me its a source issue and to contact Sony. I will do that and once they tell me to contact Vizio I am returning both products even if the PS4 pro is past the return window I will force the issue. I'm not getting in the middle of a finger pointing battle over colors. Too much aggravation and time wasting.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
134 Posts
Have overall loved my Vizio P65 so far in the last 3 or so days I've owned it, but I already ran into a major issue and it's worrying it happened in the first 3 days of owning said TV. When I called up Vizio, they said they hadn't heard of this problem before.

So I was watching a show on my Roku Stick and then the image froze on the screen. I thought okay, maybe it's a problem with the Roku or internet. I changed inputs so that I was streaming YouTube from the included tablet remote. The frozen image still showed up when the screen should've been showing the YouTube video, even though the pause and play YT features showed over the frozen image from the Roku show. I then turned off the TV. Even though it said on the tablet remote that the TV was powered off, the image still showed up on the TV screen! Sometimes I'd be able to get the TV to show the random images while on the ScreenCast input, but changing back to the Roku input, the image was still stuck on the screen, even after restarting the Roku Stick.

I called up Vizio, and they told me to unplug the TV and hold the manual power button for 5+ seconds while it was unplugged, which did work, but it's still worrying a high-end TV is having such big issues after 3 days of ownership. To be honest, it made me very mad. I paid $1,600+ for a TV that can't work for 3 days?! Anyone else have these problems?

Wow, so I continued watching the Roku show, and it just froze again. The phone service representative said maybe it was the Roku's issue. Could a Roku really make its frozen image appear under other inputs, though, after a TV supposedly is powered off?
I think this happened to me two days ago but I was switching inputs a bunch going from cable tv to Netflix casting then to YouTube cast on Vizio tablet. After the first 5 minute 4K video played the 2nd one made the screen go haywire. Part of the image was frozen the other part was just messed up looking. I did not think much of it because I was switching inputs pretty quickly and switching casts from different apps too all while everything going through my receiver. It only lasted a couple minutes and it went away. Haven't seen it since. I posted about this couple days ago but nobody responded with the same problem. I'm still not worried about anything being wrong with tv. I'm thinking I was just moving too fast
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,459 Posts
The mediatek cables did not work. This is not a cable issue I am having. I have tried over 12 I'm done. I called Vizio, the tech knew right away about it but didn't seem to know details. Eventually told me its a source issue and to contact Sony. I will do that and once they tell me to contact Vizio I am returning both products even if the PS4 pro is past the return window I will force the issue. I'm not getting in the middle of a finger pointing battle over colors. Too much aggravation and time wasting.
Have you tried the PS4 forum?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
223 Posts
Have you tried the PS4 forum?
Yes, others have issues with varying TVs but many people are satisfied with leaving it on YUV420. I don't get how using RGB could result in bandwidth issues, when I am not even watching HDR content. I am just in the menu. Would or could the PS4 pro be outputting 10 bit or even 12 bit while just in the menus or in non HDR 4k games?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,208 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
585 Posts
Only the Chromecast Ultra.
So it for sure works? Many are sceptical that Dolby Vision works over hdmi on the vizio

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,208 Posts
So it for sure works? Many are sceptical that Dolby Vision works over hdmi on the vizio

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk
Yes if it's plugged into the Display directly it works.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
584 Posts
Planet Earth II - Samsung not recognizing HDR?

Received my copy (in the mail) from Best Buy today.

Using the Samsung UBD-K8500 for playback and the Vizio P65-C1 for display.

Receiver is Denon AVR-S910W.

TV is reporting HDR = NO for this disc.

Just watched disc one - episode "Jungles"

Loaded up Tarzan 4K blu-ray right afterwards and HDR = Yes

Will check all episodes tomorrow. Is anyone else experiencing this issue?

Still looks amazing - want to get the display to recognize HDR
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
615 Posts
Yes, others have issues with varying TVs but many people are satisfied with leaving it on YUV420. I don't get how using RGB could result in bandwidth issues, when I am not even watching HDR content. I am just in the menu. Would or could the PS4 pro be outputting 10 bit or even 12 bit while just in the menus or in non HDR 4k games?
Will the Tvs themselves ever get built in HDR Chromecast support, or possibly the 2017 models?
YUV420 uses about half the bandwidth of RGB especially if RGB is 10 or 12 bit which increases the bandwidth exponentially, it does not matter if it is in HDR mode or not, 4K/60 12bit RGB will use more the 18Ghz bandwidth and is not supported by HDMI 2.0, so the chances of making it work are slim to none.

The P series displays have built in Chromecast support, but not for YouTube HDR, it will probably never be supported by the 2016 P Series, the next version of the P series will support it but it will not be released until April of 2018 probably.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
223 Posts
YUV420 uses about half the bandwidth of RGB especially is RGB is 10 or 12 bit which increases the bandwidth exponentially, it does not matter if it is in HDR mode or not, 4K 12bit RGB will use more the 18Ghz bandwidth and is not supported by HDMI 2.0, so the chances of making it work are slim to none.

The P series displays have built in Chromecast support, but not for YouTube HDR, it will probably never be supported by the 2016 P Series, the next version of the P series will support it but it will not be released until April of 2018 probably.
Thanks for the info. If I get a blue jeans cable, do I need to get the ultra thick one that is minimum 8 feet?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,208 Posts
Will the Tvs themselves ever get built in HDR Chromecast support, or possibly the 2017 models?
If you are talking about HDR10 HDR, the answer is unknown currently. It was suppose to but Vizio has been silent around here lately. Next P-Series is Spring 2018.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
74 Posts
It sounds like a Roku stick issue to me. Roku stick gen1 or gen2? Make sure you don't have Subsampling On since the stick doesn't support it. I'd suggest removing the Roku for now and restart the set and practice your new Casting skills and HDMI input switching. I use the Roku Ultra and it is always on if you switch to its HDMI port. Good luck.

Edit: If you really want to make sure the P series is off use the included remote or the power button on the back. When the set is off you won't see any image (unless your set has a broken on/off circuit).
Hey, naustin. Thanks for the response. Hmm...never heard of subsampling. I will check out that setting sometime. I wonder if that's normally set on. I haven't really messed with the settings yet, besides switching to Calibrated. I did unplug the Roku, as I feared it's that. I'm not sure which generation it is honestly. My sister bought it for me, and I hadn't used it ever until the last month as I drove across the country, as I always had an Xbox or PS3, so never needed to use it.

Do you usually turn off with the standard remote or power button on the back?

Anyways, otherwise I love the TV, other than occasional casting dropouts when using the tablet remote to ScreenCast.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
74 Posts
I think this happened to me two days ago but I was switching inputs a bunch going from cable tv to Netflix casting then to YouTube cast on Vizio tablet. After the first 5 minute 4K video played the 2nd one made the screen go haywire. Part of the image was frozen the other part was just messed up looking. I did not think much of it because I was switching inputs pretty quickly and switching casts from different apps too all while everything going through my receiver. It only lasted a couple minutes and it went away. Haven't seen it since. I posted about this couple days ago but nobody responded with the same problem. I'm still not worried about anything being wrong with tv. I'm thinking I was just moving too fast
Yeah, I was switching between inputs a lot, too. Hopefully it doesn't happen to us much in the future! I'm hoping in my situation it was somehow the Roku Stick's fault.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
187 Posts
Anyone use reduce judder or reduce motion blur? I've noticed by just using calibrated dark default settings on toy story 2 Blu-ray there is a decent amount of motion blur in chapter 10 when it pans over Woody memorabilia. I know by turning on reduce judder to at least 3 or 4 it starts to get the soap opera effect. Just seeing if there are any options or it this something I should try my best to ignore overall. I can see some motion blur in other movies that have horizontal panning. Can anyone give me insight?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,459 Posts
....

Do you usually turn off with the standard remote or power button on the back?

Anyways, otherwise I love the TV, other than occasional casting dropouts when using the tablet remote to ScreenCast.
Rokus are generally always on, but you can set a screen saver for the home screen. It sounds like a program froze & you didn't exit out to home, so the next time you switched to that input you got the same frozen screen. If you lock an App on the Roku and switch to casting the same app it will probably be locked as well.

You use Input Subsampling for HDR capable connected devices.

Read the first post on this tread for good P series info.

I generally turn my P65 on/off with my Dish Hopper remote, or my iPhone or an Android tablet if Casting. My point is if you see an image the P series isn't turned off.
 
42641 - 42660 of 64785 Posts
Top