AVS Forum banner

43161 - 43180 of 64783 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,207 Posts
I am curious how it is decided that it can't be upgraded without hardware. How do they know the hardware in the tvs hdmi board isn't capable of being upgraded via firmware to meet those specs?
I'm sure its an assumption .... only time will tell.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,142 Posts
It looks like the new 2017 M series is going to have full on screen menus, I forget, did Matt say those are coming to the P series?

From BJ's site: "Easily set up and control your display with the included remote. With simple access to the new on-screen menu, use the remote to adjust all basic and advanced menu settings."

Obviously it would likely require a new remote or a universal remote (unless they did something really weird with the current remote), but if we can use a new remote that would be pretty slick.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
134 Posts
Did a complete shut off of my receiver and haven't seen the blocks of noise on my display since.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,355 Posts
It looks like the new 2017 M series is going to have full on screen menus, I forget, did Matt say those are coming to the P series?

From BJ's site: "Easily set up and control your display with the included remote. With simple access to the new on-screen menu, use the remote to adjust all basic and advanced menu settings."

Obviously it would likely require a new remote or a universal remote (unless they did something really weird with the current remote), but if we can use a new remote that would be pretty slick.
Matt did say a new UI was coming. I have a feeling (based on nothing but good vibes) that we might also see dynamic HDR10 and HLG support.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,355 Posts
Strangely enough, it seems like the P75 has been discontinued. All the usual suspects either show them as on clearance, out of stock, or no longer available. Since there are no plans for a P-series replacement until next year, it seems way, way too early for Vizio to be dropping the 75" P-series from their lineup.

Does anyone have any idea what's going on here? (paging @Matt McRae...)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,330 Posts
It looks like the new 2017 M series is going to have full on screen menus, I forget, did Matt say those are coming to the P series?

From BJ's site: "Easily set up and control your display with the included remote. With simple access to the new on-screen menu, use the remote to adjust all basic and advanced menu settings."

Obviously it would likely require a new remote or a universal remote (unless they did something really weird with the current remote), but if we can use a new remote that would be pretty slick.
Hmmmm, haven't seen anything on the M Series yet. The 2017 E and D Series are out though. E series has built in Chromecast. D series uses V.I.A Plus.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,142 Posts
Hmmmm, haven't seen anything on the M Series yet. The 2017 E and D Series are out though. E series has built in Chromecast. D series uses V.I.A Plus.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk


Specs are still kind of questionable at this point but it does say Chromecast and on screen menu. But that's about it for interesting info for existing P series owners, it also doesn't sound like it's going to step on the P series toes at all like the 2015 M did for the 2014 P, but who knows yet.

Separate thread for it over here: http://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lcd-flat-panel-displays/2755441-2017-vizio-m-series-anticipation-thread.html
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,420 Posts
Anyone have a good method and good content for a REAL comparison between SDR and HDR on the vizio tv itsself? Was hoping i could find a good example content and be able to show it with HDR on and HDR off, preferably without having to fiddle through menus and what not. I was trying it with games, but the ones if tried you usually gotta go into a few menus, turn it off, let the screen go blank for 5 seconds or so, then back out of the menus. I have some people tell me "it doesn't look much different", but i wonder if there wasn't that long in between pause of turning HDR on and off if the difference would be more clear. Anyone have a good method for showing off a comparison?
You could try some Vudu streams. The UHD is Dolby Vision and the HD is SDR. They switch fairly quickly.
 

·
Lionheart of AVS
Joined
·
3,287 Posts
Hey my friends! :)

Back in June of last year I wrote a short "article" (post) about Color Volume.

>What is Color Volume?<

I put a LINK to it in my signature and I'm sure some of you read it in the past.

Recently, I started thinking about revisiting and updating that "article", given the recent increased interest in the subject of Color Volume, and adding additional info, illustrations, and pictures to it.

I finally got around to doing it yesterday, but instead of just updating the original post, I decided to re-post it as a brand new "Thread". Not only did I add additional info, I also adding a whole new section to it.

(This way, it could reach readers from all threads who don't read this one - since the subject matter applies to all TV brands, makes and models.)

I would like to invite you to check-out my new post. (Just click the LINK above or the one in my signature.)

If you like it, please leave a comment to let me know.

Thank You! :)

Richard
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,207 Posts
Hey my friends! :)

Back in June of last year I wrote a short "article" (post) about Color Volume.

>What is Color Volume?<

I put a LINK to it in my signature and I'm sure some of you read it in the past.

Recently, I started thinking about revisiting and updating that "article", given the recent increased interest in the subject of Color Volume, and adding additional info, illustrations, and pictures to it.

I finally got around to doing it yesterday, but instead of just updating the original post, I decided to re-post it as a brand new "Thread". Not only did I add additional info, I also adding a whole new section to it.

(This way, it could reach readers from all threads who don't read this one - since the subject matter applies to all TV brands, makes and models.)

I would like to invite you to check-out my new post. (Just click the LINK above or the one in my signature.)

If you like it, please leave a comment to let me know.

Thank You! :)

Richard
I saw, good read!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,846 Posts
Not a good evening with the P75 tonight. I started getting this distortion on the left 1/8 of the screen as shown on the image. I tried:

1. Powering Off then back ON

2. Unplugging and pressing the power button behind the display for a few seconds.

3. Doing a full factory reset and it finally fixed it.

Don't know what to do next except call Vizio support?
@Matt McRae

Had this happen again to my P75 last night and called Vizio. They said they would send me an email so that I could reply with pictures but I never got an email. Here's another couple images of the issue. The blue bar on the left of the screen seems to come and go so I can't tell what triggers it?
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,207 Posts
@Matt McRae

Had this happen again to my P75 last night and called Vizio. They said they would send me an email so that I could reply with pictures but I never got an email. Here's another couple images of the issue. The blue bar on the left of the screen seems to come and go so I can't tell what triggers it?
Does it only happen with HDR10 or all content?

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,051 Posts
@Matt McRae

Had this happen again to my P75 last night and called Vizio. They said they would send me an email so that I could reply with pictures but I never got an email. Here's another couple images of the issue. The blue bar on the left of the screen seems to come and go so I can't tell what triggers it?
I had this happen but it wouldn't go away no matter if I cast something or used various hdmi. Had it replaced.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
134 Posts
@Matt McRae

Had this happen again to my P75 last night and called Vizio. They said they would send me an email so that I could reply with pictures but I never got an email. Here's another couple images of the issue. The blue bar on the left of the screen seems to come and go so I can't tell what triggers it?
Hmm because of the color of the bar may not be same issue as I had. But after I reset my receiver it went away haven't seen it sense and I was seeing it on a daily basis. It was weird cuz it would flash on the screen with sound . The block wig noise was going crazy to the chefs table them song
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
948 Posts
Hi, I am new,to this thread. Just ordered the p65 and waiting delivery. Could u pls guide me to the latest calibration available? Also, my receiver is not hdr capable. Is that a problem? I am planning to use my Xbox one s to get amazon hdr. Any other pointers to a newbie would be highly appreciated.Thanks in advanced.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,995 Posts
Discussion Starter #43,177
Official Vizio 2016 P Series Owners Thread (UHD/HDR/DV) No Price Talk Please

Hi, I am new,to this thread. Just ordered the p65 and waiting delivery. Could u pls guide me to the latest calibration available? Also, my receiver is not hdr capable. Is that a problem? I am planning to use my Xbox one s to get amazon hdr. Any other pointers to a newbie would be highly appreciated.Thanks in advanced.


It's not a problem so long as you don't try to pass HDR devices through your AVR.

Lot's of ports on the P. Direct connect and pass audio back to the AVR through ARC or direct connect the xbox audio to the AVR.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,030 Posts
For my hardware tech specialists in here. i have a few questions even though my gut is telling me no, i still would like to ask. :)

Is it possible for some HDMI 2.0 ports to become updated to HDMI 2.1?
Does HDMI 2.1 require newer hardware to utilize the new benefits?

If question 1 is yes, do we know if Vizio can update the HDMI to 2.1 in our P-Series?


The reason why i ask is because news broke out that Xbox Scorpio will support Variable Refresh Rate and Freesync that is part of the new HDMI 2.1 capabilities. Pretty exciting to me.
Its more than likely a new hardware requirement, considering the increase in bandwidth.

Sent from my 5054N using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
431 Posts
I am curious how it is decided that it can't be upgraded without hardware. How do they know the hardware in the tvs hdmi board isn't capable of being upgraded via firmware to meet those specs?
I'm not an expert on these things, but in general to increase the amount of data you can send you need to increase the bandwidth of your signal. In hardwired communications this means that you'll need to send higher frequency signals. The physical characteristics of your wires and connectors (resistance, capacitance, inductance) affect the maximum frequency that you can transmit clearly (ie with a suitable signal to noise). Thus to improve upon the maximum data rate they need to physically improve the hardware to support higher frequencies. Although some old connectors might be able to successfully transmit the high frequency signals, most of the connectors would likely have problems with signal noise or heat so trying to firmware upgrade it would lead to a lot of unhappy customers as it would just end up creating lots of issues. Certain features, like 8K video, require significantly more data/bandwidth and thus can't be implemented with a simple firmware upgrade. Other features don't require much data transmission so those signals can be sent over the current hardware as long as the system knows how to properly decode this extra data, which is what the firmware update teaches it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
334 Posts
The tech was there about 2 hours. Half that time was taking the vizio off the mantel and then removing all the screws from the back. Once the back cover was off, it took about 30 minutes to replace both boards. The tech took his time, and even wore a static wrist cable. It's been 3 days, and no issues with freezing, except two new ones. First, the power on light at the lower left corner doesn't come on. Second, I cannot get the DirecTV rc73 remote code to work, even though it did work before! Calling dtv only got me a new remote, no matter how many times I told them it can't be the remote.
When they replaced the boards in my original P75 (due to the screen split issue not being resolved by firmware), my remotes stopped controlling the display, both the Basic remote that came with it and my Harmony remote. I assumed the installer failed to reconnect something, but Vizio ended up sending me a replacement P75. It was a bummer because my original display had near-perfect screen uniformity.
 
43161 - 43180 of 64783 Posts
Top