AVS Forum banner

581 - 600 of 2096 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
99 Posts
OK, so two weeks with my RX-V685 (and first receiver ever) and getting the hang of it (by reading and experimenting 24/7 basically) :) A big thanks to ChromeJob by the way, you are such a help - I have like 20 of your posts in a file for future reference. You should get paid for this, really :)

Anyway, I am currently in the process of setting audio decoding for my main 4 scenes. I've generally figured out my PC (movies via VLC player) should be "straight" (HDMI audio only, no sound card involved). Also "straight" for my PS4 scene (yet to decide on PCM vs bitstream). And my tuner scene will be set per preference, currently 7-channel stereo DSP.

However my TV scene's audio doesn't make sense. I'd like to keep it at "Auto surround" because it works nice with cable channels with a lot of talking, etc. Based on reading here and on other places I was under the impression that if I use "auto surround" DSP and switch to a movie (a TV channel or streaming app - Netflix or HBO) which has native 5.1 channels, the receiver will detect that and automatically turn off the processing and allow the native 5.1 channels to play in "straight" mode. However when testing on Netflix this doesn't seem to be the case. Dark Knight sounds much different (and better) in "straight", compared to "auto surround". Yet to test this on a cable movie channel, but am I wrong to assume "auto surround" DSP will detect and pass through native 5.1 channels unprocessed?

Cheers

P.S. How do you do a multi-position YPAO set-up without having such an option in the menu at all? If I make several consecutive measurements based on this article (https://simpleonline.blog/2017/05/23/yamaha-ypao-configuration-the-right-way/) and only my latest measurement is stored in terms of distance, levels, etc. It doesn't make sense, maybe this range of receivers can't do it?
 
  • Like
Reactions: ChromeJob

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,224 Posts
(Blush, and deep bow.)

My older AVR model would switch from Sur Decode to Straight based on incoming audio content, but with the replacement of Dolby PL II decoder with Dolby Surround upmixer, this behavior may’ve changed. I haven’t played with a live *85, sorry.

The multi-position YPAO is a feature on some of the higher models, check the Yamaha product page & specs.
 
  • Like
Reactions: lyubohar

·
Registered
Joined
·
99 Posts
Thanks. I'll dig a bit more on the surround upmixer topic.

Regarding YPAO - it doesn't say specifically if it's single or multi-position, but no "multi" option is available for sure, so I guess it's single-position. Higher tier models mention "multi-positioning" indeed.

On the other hand when I read about this on the internet it sounds as if multi-positioning is something you can do with any receiver by (and this is only my assumption) just repeating the procedure so that the receiver collects a lot of samples. But it wouldn't work since only the latest one is taken into account.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,224 Posts
Dont’ believe everything you read on the Internet, always practice healthy skepticism and consider the source. ;) (Including moi.)
 
  • Like
Reactions: lyubohar

·
Registered
Joined
·
99 Posts
You bet, mine is even unhealthy :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Random TV shutdown with Yamaha TSR-7850 and Xbox One X

I recently bought a TSR-7850 to connect my consoles, Xbox One X, PS4 and an Nvidia Shield TV to a Vizio P55-E1. I've been having this problem where I'm playing my xbox and after around 15-30 minutes the TV simply shuts off for no reason. If I connect the Xbox directly to the TV the issue disappears. I've tried also upgrading the firmware, on both the TV and the Receiver. I've tried plugging the receiver by using the ARC port and moving it to some other port and the problem persists. I know that I have experienced a few times a sudden short HDCP error message on my shield when using it with the TV. However, since using the receiver that issue seems to have gone away. I'm at a bit of a loss trying to figure out if it's an Xbox setting, a TV setting or a Receiver Setting even though when connecting the consoles directly to the TV I don't seem to have big issues.

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,224 Posts
I recently bought a TSR-7850 to connect my consoles, Xbox One X, PS4 and an Nvidia Shield TV to a Vizio P55-E1. I've been having this problem where I'm playing my xbox and after around 15-30 minutes the TV simply shuts off for no reason. If I connect the Xbox directly to the TV the issue disappears. I've tried also upgrading the firmware, on both the TV and the Receiver. I've tried plugging the receiver by using the ARC port and moving it to some other port and the problem persists. I know that I have experienced a few times a sudden short HDCP error message on my shield when using it with the TV. However, since using the receiver that issue seems to have gone away. I'm at a bit of a loss trying to figure out if it's an Xbox setting, a TV setting or a Receiver Setting even though when connecting the consoles directly to the TV I don't seem to have big issues.

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
When you unplugged the Xbox from the AVR and plugged into the TV, did you use the Xbox -> AVR HDMI cord? Or did you use the one AVR -> TV? Just to eliminate a problem with a faulty cable, change the cable under use when you plug the Xbox into the TV, perhaps the one you were NOT using when you tested the Xbox -> TV connection has a problem.

Is the Nvidia Shield connected through the AVR when you have the HDCP errors, or directly to the TV?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
538 Posts
Yamaha TSR-7850 to Yamaha RX-A2080 ?

Is this can be significant upgrade or not really. With klipsch speakers 2 atmos in front 7.1.2 system.
Trying to value the differences, most important to me is the sound, other all things are secondary for me.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,411 Posts
Is this can be significant upgrade or not really. With klipsch speakers 2 atmos in front 7.1.2 system.
Trying to value the differences, most important to me is the sound, other all things are secondary for me.
There is almost never a firmware update that has anything to do with sound or power. They are almost always in regards to minor fixes to quirks in communication protocols to outboard devices.

One firmware to fear is one demanded by DOLBY which will limit the unit's ability to apply Dolby Upmixing to non-Dolby encoded material. I susect they will conceal it when it arrives by using super generic verbiage: "A firmware upgrade has been applied to correct a parameter protocol handshake designation acceptance token verification sensor manifestation device constraint application system standard connection interface integration, and other minor fixes" :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,224 Posts
One firmware to fear is one demanded by DOLBY which will limit the unit's ability to apply Dolby Upmixing to non-Dolby encoded material. I susect they will conceal it when it arrives by using super generic verbiage: "A firmware upgrade has been applied to correct a parameter protocol handshake designation acceptance token verification sensor manifestation device constraint application system standard connection interface integration, and other minor fixes" :)
My bet: "Stability improvement." Same old yada yada yada, that no one pays attention, no one scrutinizes it, totally under the radar.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Hi! I'll be buying a new receiver in the near future and this one adjusts to what I'm looking for, but eArc is mandatory for me and all I read are promises of a firmware patch. When can we expect this firmware to arrive? Thanks!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,224 Posts
Can the 2085 stream from amazon music? Doesn't look like it.
You'll need an AVR with Amazon Music built-in, or ... investigate a Fire TV Stick, see if that will stream Amazon Prime Music. ;)

Hi! I'll be buying a new receiver in the near future and this one adjusts to what I'm looking for, but eArc is mandatory for me and all I read are promises of a firmware patch. When can we expect this firmware to arrive? Thanks!
Until Yamana announces, anything we say will be conjecture.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
332 Posts
Hi! I'll be buying a new receiver in the near future and this one adjusts to what I'm looking for, but eArc is mandatory for me and all I read are promises of a firmware patch. When can we expect this firmware to arrive? Thanks!
RX-V2085 hardware supports eARC; firmware implementing the protocols has been promised, w/no ETA. Bin file is common to RX-A3080/RX-V3085/RX-A2080/.. I'd be surprised if the update isn't available by the end of the 3rd quarter (sheer speculation).

Might not be relevant, but the RX-V2085 is onsale now for a really great price (50% below RX-A2080 retail). Check the 'Great Found Deals' thread: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/122-great-found-deals/3054084-yamaha-rx-v2085-9-2-channel-4k-v-receiver.html

Bought one myself to replace a non-HDCP 2.2 compliant RX-A2040. Have really been enjoying the Surround: AI functionality (simple 5.2.2 speaker layout)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,174 Posts
I recently got the TSR 7850 and have been upgrading the rest of my home theatre elements over the past couple weeks. Today I added the Pioneer SP-C22 center channel to my 5.1.2 system. Its the match to my L and R Andre Jones upfiring Atmos speakers that I've loved.

I re-ran the setup with the microphone, and I saved it. I was hoping the new speaker would add clarity to dialogue. It sort of does, but the problem is the new center speaker sounds really "big" almost like voices, esp bass male voices, are in a cave. Are there any settings I should adjust.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,224 Posts
I recently got the TSR 7850 and have been upgrading the rest of my home theatre elements over the past couple weeks. Today I added the Pioneer SP-C22 center channel to my 5.1.2 system. Its the match to my L and R Andre Jones upfiring Atmos speakers that I've loved.

I re-ran the setup with the microphone, and I saved it. I was hoping the new speaker would add clarity to dialogue. It sort of does, but the problem is the new center speaker sounds really "big" almost like voices, esp bass male voices, are in a cave. Are there any settings I should adjust.
Big, like echoey? Big, like louder? Hard to say. Are you watching 5.1 content, or 2.0 content upmixed by Dolby or Neo:X?

Make sure you're not using DSP mode "7ch Stereo." Turn off any DSP. Check the YPAO PEQ mode, if you're in something other than "Through," select that. Is the speaker set as "Small" or "Large?" If "large," set to "small" -- those 4" woofers aren't going to make the speaker full spectrum.

Finally it could be the speaker, it doesn't look very robust. The speaker should be a good match (woofer size, tweeter) to the left and right channels, not the Atmos speakers, iMHO.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,174 Posts
Big, like echoey? Big, like louder? Hard to say. Are you watching 5.1 content, or 2.0 content upmixed by Dolby or Neo:X?

Make sure you're not using DSP mode "7ch Stereo." Turn off any DSP. Check the YPAO PEQ mode, if you're in something other than "Through," select that. Is the speaker set as "Small" or "Large?" If "large," set to "small" -- those 4" woofers aren't going to make the speaker full spectrum.

Finally it could be the speaker, it doesn't look very robust. The speaker should be a good match (woofer size, tweeter) to the left and right channels, not the Atmos speakers, iMHO.
Yes, Big as in echoey. Also like I've turned on something like NEO X (but only in the front), but I keep those filters off. I've hit Through to be sure. I set it to Small, re-ran the mike setup (and saved) and it looks like it was set back to Big. So I went in again and set it to small again. There may be some improvement now, so I'm going to test it for awhile. It may just be a matter of getting used to the bigger speaker. Its like 4Xs bigger in size than my previous center channel. I'll try to attach a photo. I have a weird corner setup, and with the new panel those speakers are slightly behind panel.

Thanks!
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Sorry for the basic question, but how do I check/verify that the TSR-7850 is receiving and decoding surround information? For example, I have the DSP on standard and one disk is supposed to be Dolby TrueHD and the other DTS-HD and both show PCM on the LCD display of the unit. I wonder if the player is sending the correct info through the HDMI.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,411 Posts
Yes, Big as in echoey.
Many if not most of Yamaha's surround modes sound echoey (and not to my taste) so I always use "Straight"/Dolby Surround or just 2ch Stereo. Might you have one of those echo modes turned on?

They have the audacity to label one of these echo modes "Standard" which is ridiculous because it is not anyone's "standard" where the music was made.

Edit: [I posted this without reading the above by nekoavs.]
 
  • Like
Reactions: ChromeJob

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
234 Posts
I just got the 7850 for my small living room set up. It says it can pass digital sources to zone 2 but I'm not having any luck.

I have the cable box running into the arc input and hdmi out to the TV.

I'm using the 7.1 set up so Zone 2 is active in the 1st slot.

Zone 2 is showing as "off" in my scenes, even when I have turned on Zone 2 with the remote.

Any ideas?
 
581 - 600 of 2096 Posts
Top