AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,366 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've read quite a few posts about color analyzers and spectroradiometers. Since I'm new, I don't want to do any calibrations by eye. What do I really need to get started? I want to know what works best for value of the dollar that I can use for all display devices and is practical to use at the client site. Obviously, I want to keep my start-up costs as low as possible, but want to do an excellent job for my prospective clients. Please recommend brands.

I'm inclined to think I need a signal generator as well for HDTV. What kind of outputs does it need to have? I imagine it should have a component out among others. Any recommendations?

Please go slowly. While I'm no dolt, I'm not a scientist either. I just enjoy a display's fine image and want to do the same for others.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
21,719 Posts
You want an Accupel HD generator - its developer Greg Rogers will be my Special Guest at the AVS Special Guest forum on May 26th. And a Progressive Labs CA-1 Color Analyzer which AV Science On Line Store just had a power buy on.

·
Registered
842 Posts
If you are really going to do this for a living and are going to be doing

multiple kinds of display devices, you are going to want a full spectrum

device that is accurate for any and all display devices.

examples

http://gilmore.chem.northwestern.edu/dilad65.jpg

http://gilmore.chem.northwestern.edu/daylight.jpg

http://gilmore.chem.northwestern.edu/crtmon.jpg

very few devices out there can correctly calculate color temps for

spectrums like these.

As far as HD generators are concerned, you will definitely need one.

But a used unitymotion (integra 815) works absolutely great as

a reference generator, and is attractively priced.

·
Registered
1,366 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks, so far.