AVS Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the format. I just bought a Samsung PN58A650 plasma and a Sony playstation 3 to run through a Onkyo 606 receiver. But I have quite a few VHS tapes. Is there a player that I can buy that would upconvert them? Or will the receiver surfice? As I said it is a stupid question - Thanks in advance - Mark

·
One-Man Content Creator
25,217 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkbb /forum/post/14337530

I'm new to the format. I just bought a Samsung PN58A650 plasma and a Sony playstation 3 to run through a Onkyo 606 receiver. But I have quite a few VHS tapes. Is there a player that I can buy that would upconvert them?

No.

Quote:
Or will the receiver surfice?

Yes.

Also: the display itself will scale any input signal to its native resolution. Quality is not going to very good no matter how you do it; VHS is pretty low-definition by today's standards and there isn't much that can be done to improve it.

-Bill

·
Registered
1,202 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkbb /forum/post/14337530

I'm new to the format. I just bought a Samsung PN58A650 plasma and a Sony playstation 3 to run through a Onkyo 606 receiver. But I have quite a few VHS tapes. Is there a player that I can buy that would upconvert them? Or will the receiver surfice? As I said it is a stupid question - Thanks in advance - Mark

You have a 1080p TV so ALL signals will be upconverted to 1080p by the TV, you don't need to upconvert before the signal goes to the TV.

The only value in having a device that upconverts before the signal gets to the TV is if the scaler in the device is better than the one in the TV. Some DVD players do a better upconversion job than the TV but in general it does not matter where the upconversion is done.

·
Registered
3,220 Posts
This is coming from a guy that has hundreds of VHS video tapes, maybe thousands. I have every episode of every Star Trek on VHS.