AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 73 Posts

·
Registered
644 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As a complete newbie (only a few days with my HDTV receiver) I am VERY disturbed by some things I'm seeing with HDTV.

The much-lauded PBS demo is flat out STUNNING, that is unless it's displaying moving water, blowing leaves, etc.

The 76ers in HDTV (1080i) looked absolutely fabulous until the action started and then it was pixelation hell.

A nature show on PBS involving large cats (I don't recall if they were tigers, lions, jags, etc.) and lots of shots in the woods was virtually UNWATCHABLE due to all the artifacts.

What gives? From the newbie side of things NONE of this has been mentioned to us. We're all thinking HDTV is just as stable as regular TV with better resolution. Instead what I'm seeing is a bunch of bad artifacting. When those aren't there, as I said, it is often stunning but that illusion is quickly destroyed by the artifacts. Friends who saw the 76ers with me, as I'm the first of my friends to get HDTV went away saying, "Thank GOD I didn't spend money on THAT!"

Confused.... I'm assuming this is some sort of badwidth issue but I don't see why. The whole point of HDTV was to improve the quality. Not just tempt you with what it almost can do. Have I spent thousands of dollars and much headache for a technology that isn't ready for primetime?

·
Registered
838 Posts
Some people are sensitive to the artifacts, and some aren't. Degredation of your typical analog signal results in blurriness, ghosting, and wavy lines. Pixelation, blocks, jaggies.... welcome to the 'digital degradation' of the 21st century!

Unfortunately I'm extremely sensitive to digital artifacts, having come from a video-oriented background. My parents have digital cable, and the picture drives me up a wall.

- Chris

·
Registered
4,304 Posts