AVS Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
505 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
..and doesn't mind stopping by to give my TV a check. I'm new to the HD world and my first purchase, which was a couple weeks ago, was a Samsung PN50B650, and the overall picture quality just doesn't seem quite as good as it should be. I'd just like an experienced HD user's eyes to be the judge if what I have is peaking it's possibilities or not. If anyone is interested let me know, PM me and we'll swap numbers etc.

·
Premium Member
18,322 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzy714 /forum/post/16939579

..and doesn't mind stopping by to give my TV a check. I'm new to the HD world and my first purchase, which was a couple weeks ago, was a Samsung PN50B650, and the overall picture quality just doesn't seem quite as good as it should be. I'd just like an experienced HD user's eyes to be the judge if what I have is peaking it's possibilities or not. If anyone is interested let me know, PM me and we'll swap numbers etc.

High Definition is only as good as it's source. The new Samsungs look very good so i wonder if it's your HD source that is not up to par?

Who is your source for HD (TWC cable, DirecTV, FIOS, OTA, etc)?

What kind of HD STB are you using (if any)?

What are some HD channels and/or HD programs that you think aren't looking as good as they should?

Have you compared any OTA HD primetime programs or sports broadcasts to the same channels via cable/satellite?

·
Registered
505 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm under TWC. I don't have a STB, just running straight off the HD cable box that was provided. Literally everything HD just doesn't have the clarity I was expexting, from all of the HD movie channels to ESPN HD etc etc, it's just not a huge step up from standard def. to my eyes. I'm not too sure what over the air channels are, I'm guessing like ABC/Fox an those standard channels?

·
Registered
1,182 Posts
A couple of things you can quickly check: