AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm interested in setting up a home theater and since I'm a novice without much of a budget am trying to see if anything I currently have is worth throwing into the mix. I've got two Cerwin Vega RE 25's that I bought in 97 that are still in good condition after making it through the party years. Can I use these as at least the front speakers in a surround setup or am I better off getting all matching speakers in the rotation?

If I did keep these, what exactly are the other components I would need and which would you recommend (told you i'm a novice)??? If someone can help me out and maybe list these "others" in order of most crucial I'd be more then appreciative. Thanks in advance to any that post, AVS Forum kicks some serious ass! :)

·
Registered
2,690 Posts
What's your budget for speakers? What are the dimensions of your HT room? What receiver will you be using?

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Budget is in the $500 range for now, but should be able to expand the setup over the next couple of years. room is about 12 x 15, but not completely enclosed by walls. Have a really old Pioneer receiver without many inputs, probably will have to replace.

·
Registered
2,690 Posts
If you want to watch DVDs, your old Pioneer probably won't be up to it; you'll need a digital receiver. What's your budget for your receiver + speakers? An inexpensive way to go about this is to buy used or close out models. You definitely will want to use your Cerwin Vegas either for your mains or surrounds so you'll have more money to put into your other speakers. There's a Dayton sub that's inexpensive but very popular if you're considering a sub. Reply with a budget for your receiver and speakers to help get this narrowed down.

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #6