AVS Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the HTPC and I am hoping some of you might be able to lend some help or advice. I am getting ready to build a new computer for regular purposes and would like to use the one I am replacing as a HTPC. I am looking to mainly play video files off my hard drive. All kinds of different formats. I don't stream much in the form of netflix or anything like that. I would like to be able to display videos from tv streams like watch espn or firstrowsports. I am also hoping to do some game emulation like nintendo and super nintendo. My current setup is below:

Graphics Card: GeForce 8500 GT

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-M52L-S3

Processor: AMD x86 2.6ghz (x86 family 15 model 107 stepping 2 Authentic AMD-2611mhz)

Ram- 4gig

Storage- 200gig internal and could use 1 terabyte external.

Do you think I could make this work for what I want to do? I don't really care about case size and how quiet. If I need to I can buy a few extra parts if I need to upgrade something. Thanks for any help you might provide.

·
Registered
2,488 Posts
For up to 1080p video content you'll be fine as the 8500GT can handle that. However it can't do HD audio or standalone audio-over-HDMI (needs an S/PDIF cable connected to on-board or other soundcard). However to get things like that (if you need them) you could always just get a new videocard. I think the main question is then, where are you outputting the audio?

Your CPU is actually an AMD Athlon 64 x2 5000 (I decoded your CPUID string posted), and that is perfectly fine for your needs. RAM is fine too. Storage is up to you how much you want/need, but I would definitely suggest you add an SSD for your OS at least, as it will speed up the system a heck of a lot.

·
Registered
5,703 Posts