AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello..newbie here and looking for some help.

I purchased a house and was thrilled to find out that there was a On Q box and all bedrooms/family room having an ethernet port.

Now the question is that how can I get the ethernet ports in each room to work?! Unfortunately I have no clue where to start from and it might be easier to get someone to do it for me but I am really keen to learn and do it myself.

The tech from the cable company said that the signal from the service provider comes into the attic and from there he bypassed the OnQ setup and used a separate coxial cable for the internet which then connects to the modem in my office. The ethernet port is not being used. He said I could just plug the ethernet cable from the modem into the wall and it should make all other ports in the house 'live' but that did not work.

I took some pictures of the On Q box. Can someone help me figure out what I need to do to get to use the outputs. I am assuming I need to hook up my modem here but not sure where exactly. I have done a lot of google searches to no avail and hoping some experts can chime in and help out.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
10,873 Posts
Assuming your modem is also a "router" (does it provide WiFi wireless and/or have more the one Ethernet output?), you can patch one line from your study back to the OnQ enclosure. Add any simple Ethernet switch there, and patch the rest of the house (any of the rooms shown on the yellow wires attached to the RJ45 block) using short patch cables from the switch.

5-port 10/100 Ethernet switches are $10 from Newegg. Upgrade to Gigabit (mostly for future use) for an additional $10...

If your modem is not a router, there will be a little more work involved, and geez I wish the cable guys would just wire these correctly when the house has the structured wiring in place instead of bypassing it so it's like every other pre-2000 house...