AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am having trouble making a decision between these two units. Price wise I can get them for sbout the same.

They both do component switching, butI have heard that the Denon may have issues with HD. Is this true???

Also, the Onkyo 696 does not have 6.1. I am using the Energy XL series speakers and I currently do not have a rear surround speaker. Is this really that important??

All opinions will be taken into consideration. Thanks

·
Registered
443 Posts
I just purchased the Denon 2802 about 2 weeks ago...I am very new to the home theater experience...I have no complaints excpet the lack of ex and es title out there...Star Wars Episode 1 was unbelievable on the EX mode, there is a noticable difference between 5.1 and 6.1 in my opinion...Pro-Logic 2 is awesome...Go for the Denon...

·
Registered
181 Posts
Monitor out is to your TV. The other outs are usually to other recording devices or processors. Neither of these devices converts composite or s-video to component output - it would be nice. Specifically I bought the 696 because it DOES convert composite in to s-video. This helps with VCR's for example that don't have an s output. It is the only receiver that does this under $2000 I think. There is a new $>4000 Pioneer that converts composite and s to component - too much unless you want lots of the other features.

·
Registered
1,589 Posts
I guess I'll jump in even though I don't have any experience with the Denon. I own the 696 and it's powering a Diva set-up. 6.1 mains, 2.1 rears and a C3 center. I think it sounds great, but again, I can't compare it to the Denon.

Lon_Coleman, The Onkyo 696 is supposed to have enough bandwidth for HD switching, but since I don't have HD anything I can't test that for you. However, I do use the video switching extensively.