AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 733 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I pulled the trigger on this guy yesterday. Amazon has a great price on it right now. I wanted to get some feed back and found that there wasn't an official thread about this unit. So, in order to get all our thoughts and concerns in one place, here's this thread.






Onkyo product site
HT-RC270 Manual

* Advanced Features

o THX® Select2 Plus certified

o HDMI® (Version 1.4a to support 3D and Audio Return channel) with Deep Color, x.v.Color, LipSync, Dolby® TrueHD, DTS-HD Master Audio, DVD-Audio, Super Audio CD, multichannel PCM, and CEC

o 6 HDMI inputs (1 front/5 rear) and 1 output

o Audyssey DSX and Dolby® Pro Logic® IIz for new surround channels

o PLL Jitter-Cleaning circuit technology

o Audyssey MultEQ® for room acoustic correction

o Network capability for streaming audio files (MP3, WMA, WMA Lossless, FLAC, WAV, Ogg Vorbis, AAC, and LPCM)

o Internet radio connectivity (Pandora®, Rhapsody®, SIRIUS Internet Radio®, Napster, Mediafly, Slacker, and vTuner)*

o Certified with Windows® 7 and DLNA version 1.5

o Firmware updates via Ethernet and USB

o Front-Panel USB Input for Memory Devices and iPhone®:/iPod® Models (Enables Display of Album Artwork)

* Amplifier Features

o 100 Watts per channel at 8 ohms, 20 Hz-20 kHz, 0.08%, 2 channels driven, FTC

o WRAT (Wide Range Amplifier Technology)

o Three-Stage inverted Darlington circuitry

o H.C.P.S. (High Current Power Supply) Massive High Power Transformer

o Linear optimum gain volume circuitry

* Processing Features

o Burr-Brown 192 kHz/24-Bit DACs (PCM1690) for all channels

o Two 32-Bit processing DSP chips (DA830 and CS49834)

o Dolby® TrueHD, DTS-HD Master Audio, Dolby® Digital Plus, DTS-HD High-Resolution Audio decoding

o HDMI video upscaling to 1080p with Faroudja Dcdi Cinema

o 4 DSP Modes for Gaming: Rock, Sports, Action, and RPG

o Music Optimizer for compressed digital music files

o Direct Mode and Pure Audio Mode

o A-Form listening mode memory

o Theater-Dimensional Virtual Surround Function

* Connection Features

o Universal Port for single-cable connection of optional Onkyo dock for iPhone®/iPod® or HD Radio tuner

o Component video switching (2 inputs and 1 output)

o 4 S-Video inputs and 2 outputs

o Analog RGB video input (D-sub, 15 pin) and audio input for PC

o Front-panel audio input for portable devices

o 5 Digital Inputs (2 Optical and 3 Coaxial)

o 5 A/V inputs (1 front/4 rear) and 1 output

o Color-coded, 7.1 multichannel inputs

o Video output (monitor)

o 1 audio input

o Phono input

o Color-coded, 7.2 multichannel pre outs

o Powered zone 2 and zone 2 line-out for distributed audio playback in another room

o Bi-amping capability

o Color-coded, Banana Plug-compatible speaker posts

o RIHD (Remote Interactive over HDMI) for system control

* Other Features

o Overlaid graphical on-screen display (OSD) via HDMI

o Audyssey Dynamic Volume

o Audyssey Dynamic EQ® for loudness correction

o Crossover adjustment (40/50/60/70/80/90/100/120/150/200 Hz)

o A/V sync control function (up to 250 ms in 5 ms steps)

o Tone control (bass/treble) for front L/R channels

o Display dimmer (normal/dim/dimmer)

o 40 FM/AM random presets

o Compatible with RI (Remote Interactive) dock for iPod

o Aluminum front panel and gloss-finished volume knob

o Preprogrammed and customizable RI remote control with on-screen setup, mode-key LEDs, and macro presets for four activities


What's in the Box

Onkyo HT-RC270 7.2-Channel Network A/V Receiver, indoor FM antenna, AM loop antenna, speaker cable labels, speaker setup microphone, instruction manual, quick start guide, remote controller, AA (R6) batteries (2).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
39 Posts
I'm interested in some thoughts as well. I had been going back and forth between the 708 and 808. The differences are not something that I would miss, and I was going to be purchasing an Emotiva amp, so the receivers amps would only be used until then - was going to pull the trigger on the 708 and found the RC270 for $150 less. Compared to the 708, there are only slight differences and now I am thinking about pulling the trigger on this one - and adds $150 more towards the amp fund.


I would love to hear what others have to say on this one.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
76 Posts
Ha. I'm glad you started this. I'm running an eight year old Denon 1802 and am considering getting in to the HDMI in/out era. I don't even have component in/out on my old receiver!



Looks like some people squabble over a complicated setup and/or counter intuitive menus or buttons, but the feature set is killer for the price. This would really help me as I'm anxious to integrate my iTunes library (mostly music) and have more inputs if I get Apple TV and Netflix.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
182 Posts
Thanks OP.

I couldn't hold it any longer

Caved in and bought this after seeing the nice images you posted.


I am now in the market for speakers and banana plugs.


The one I am eyeing and hate to have missed out on is the one below:
Very Hot!! -- Energy CF-70 speaker at bestbuy B&M $249.99 each (regular $499.99) - Unable to post URL as this is my first post. This was on SD.


On another note... does this receiver also suffer from the HDMI port failure issues? If so that would be abummer. Any way to find that out?


I am also in the market for good reasonable speakers at a killer price. Thoughts / suggestions?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
I just bought this receiver recently too. Really like it. Easy set up, great features. Though do most people find that you listen to it with the volume around 50 for just regular tv. Is this normal? Seems quite quiet up to 50. Though as I do turn it up it gets quite a bit louder quickly above 60. Thanks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
182 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Furiousd8
I just bought this receiver recently too. Really like it. Easy set up, great features. Though do most people find that you listen to it with the volume around 50 for just regular tv. Is this normal? Seems quite quiet up to 50. Though as I do turn it up it gets quite a bit louder quickly above 60. Thanks.
Are you sure that's normal?

I am thinking that might be a quality control issue. THX.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
182 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Furiousd8
I just bought this receiver recently too. Really like it. Easy set up, great features. Though do most people find that you listen to it with the volume around 50 for just regular tv. Is this normal? Seems quite quiet up to 50. Though as I do turn it up it gets quite a bit louder quickly above 60. Thanks.
BTW, did you buy your speakers as well?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
639 Posts
I am having some serious frustration with this receiver.


It looks like you can't select a specific video input to pass to the TV, for instance select Component 2. You have to assign each video input to a specific device and then select the device for video input. DVD, VCR, SAT, Game, PC, Aux, TV/CD are your only options. That means when you've assigned all those devices it's impossible to use any remaining video input that's unused.


At least that's how it sounds in the manual. I'm still trying to get everything hooked up and haven't actually used the receiver yet. Is it possible to select a video input that's not assigned to one of the aforementioned devices? If so, how? And then how do you assign an audio input to it?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,974 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by uscpsycho /forum/post/19734340


I am having some serious frustration with this receiver.


It looks like you can't select a specific video input to pass to the TV, for instance select Component 2. You have to assign each video input to a specific device and then select the device for video input. DVD, VCR, SAT, Game, PC, Aux, TV/CD are your only options. That means when you've assigned all those devices it's impossible to use any remaining video input that's unused.

Correct, you have a limit to the number of devices even though there are more inputs. There is a potential workaround though.

Quote:
At least that's how it sounds in the manual. I'm still trying to get everything hooked up and haven't actually used the receiver yet. Is it possible to select a video input that's not assigned to one of the aforementioned devices? If so, how? And then how do you assign an audio input to it?

What devices are you trying to hook up?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
639 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by In2Photos /forum/post/19734621


Correct, you have a limit to the number of devices even though there are more inputs. There is a potential workaround though.




What devices are you trying to hook up?

I'm all ears!


PS3 - HDMI

PC - VGA w/ coax for audio

MCE - svid

DVR1 - HDMI

DVD - HDMI

SACD - HDMI

DVR2 - HDMI

VCR - composite

WII - component

TV - ARC
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,974 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by uscpsycho /forum/post/19734756


I'm all ears!


PS3 - HDMI

PC - VGA w/ coax for audio

MCE - svid

DVR1 - HDMI

DVD - HDMI

SACD - HDMI

DVR2 - HDMI

VCR - composite

WII - component

TV - ARC

Holy crap!



Do you use all of that?



OK, this will be harder than I thought and still may not work, but, according to the manual the receiver will go through a progression for video/audio for each input selector. It goes HDMI>Component>VGA>S-video>Composite. So theoretically you can hook up more than one device to each input selector. if there is not a signal present on the HDMI input, it looks at component and so on. So you could potentially hook up more than one source to each input. For instance, if you hook up the DVR1 to HDMI2 (DVR/PVR) and also hook up the VCR using composite to the VCR/DVR input as long as the DVR1 is not sending its signal to the receiver then you should be able to watch the VCR.


So technically there are 5 available input selectors (BD/DVD, VCR/DVR, CBL/SAT, GAME, and PC). Since you have 10 sources (well 9 since ARC goes to TV/CD) you need to hook up 2 sources per input selector. So maybe try this:


PS3 - HDMI - GAME

PC - VGA w/ coax for audio - PC Input

MCE - svid - CBL/SAT

DVR1 - HDMI - VCR/DVR

DVD - HDMI - BD/DVD

SACD - HDMI - PC

DVR2 - HDMI - CBL/SAT

VCR - composite - VCR/DVR

WII - component - GAME

TV - ARC - TV/CD
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
639 Posts
Thanks for your help. Now let me complicate matters by identifying devices that are always on:


PS3 - HDMI

PC - VGA w/ coax for audio - always on (preferably always on)

MCE - svid - always on

DVR1 - HDMI - always on

DVD - HDMI

SACD - HDMI

DVR2 - HDMI - always on

VCR - composite

WII - component

TV - ARC
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,974 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by uscpsycho /forum/post/19735042


Thanks for your help. Now let me complicate matters by identifying devices that are always on:


PS3 - HDMI

PC - VGA w/ coax for audio - always on (preferably always on)

MCE - svid - always on

DVR1 - HDMI - always on

DVD - HDMI

SACD - HDMI

DVR2 - HDMI - always on

VCR - composite

WII - component

TV - ARC

I figured a couple of those would always be on.


OK, try this:


PS3 - HDMI - GAME

PC - VGA w/ coax for audio - PC Input

MCE - svid - BD/DVD

DVR1 - HDMI - VCR/DVR

DVD - HDMI - BD/DVD

SACD - HDMI - PC

DVR2 - HDMI - CBL/SAT

VCR - composite - GAME

WII - component - GAME

TV - ARC - TV/CD
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
639 Posts
Thanks for your suggestion and help!


This is the setup I came up with:


BD/DVD - sacd (hdmi) -> MCE* (svid)

VCR/DVR - dvr1* (hdmi)

CBL/SAT - dvr2* (hdmi)

PC - dvd (hdmi) -> htpc* (vga)

GAME - ps3 (hdmi) -> wii (component) -> vcr (composite)

TV/CD - tv (arc)

* = always on device


My goal here was to make sure any always-on device had nothing below it in the Onkyo input selection heirarchy.


Between your config and mine I hope I'll have this running properly very soon.


One question, is the VCR analog output always on? And will it downsample any input even if it's protected content over HDMI?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,974 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by uscpsycho /forum/post/19735212


One question, is the VCR analog output always on?

Shouldn't be. When the unit is off it shouldn't pass any video. Only the coax connection should.

Quote:
And will it downsample any input even if it's protected content over HDMI?

What do you mean here?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
639 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by In2Photos /forum/post/19735256


Shouldn't be. When the unit is off it shouldn't pass any video. Only the coax connection should.



What do you mean here?

I meant when the receiver is on, will it always pass the selected video source to the VCR out?


What I meant is when the source is HD will it downscale the video and output it to the analog VCR output? I'd like to be able to record programs from my DVR to my VCR/DVD recorder.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,974 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by uscpsycho /forum/post/19735373


I meant when the receiver is on, will it always pass the selected video source to the VCR out?


What I meant is when the source is HD will it downscale the video and output it to the analog VCR output? I'd like to be able to record programs from my DVR to my VCR/DVD recorder.

No, I don't believe it will do that. You can only convert from analog to HDMI, not the other way.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
639 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by In2Photos /forum/post/19735081


I figured a couple of those would always be on.


OK, try this:


PS3 - HDMI - GAME

PC - VGA w/ coax for audio - PC Input
MCE - svid - BD/DVD

DVR1 - HDMI - VCR/DVR

DVD - HDMI - BD/DVD

SACD - HDMI - PC

DVR2 - HDMI - CBL/SAT

VCR - composite - GAME

WII - component - GAME

TV - ARC - TV/CD
Quote:
Originally Posted by uscpsycho /forum/post/19735212


Thanks for your suggestion and help!


This is the setup I came up with:


BD/DVD - sacd (hdmi) -> MCE* (svid)

VCR/DVR - dvr1* (hdmi)

CBL/SAT - dvr2* (hdmi)

PC - dvd (hdmi) -> htpc* (vga)

GAME - ps3 (hdmi) -> wii (component) -> vcr (composite)

TV/CD - tv (arc)

* = always on device


My goal here was to make sure any always-on device had nothing below it in the Onkyo input selection heirarchy.


Between your config and mine I hope I'll have this running properly very soon.


One question, is the VCR analog output always on? And will it downsample any input even if it's protected content over HDMI?

So close but neither one of our configurations will work.


For some reason the analog audio input for BD/DVD does double duty with the multichannel input. I am using the multichannel input for my SACD/DVD-A player. So that creates a problem for the MCE on the BD/DVD input.


If I connect the MCE to the svid input for BD/DVD can I assign a different audio input? So BD/DVD would have an HDMI input associated with it and then when I'm not using the HDMI it would have the BD/DVD svid input paired with another unused audio input?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
639 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by uscpsycho /forum/post/19735787


So close but neither one of our configurations will work.


For some reason the analog audio input for BD/DVD does double duty with the multichannel input. I am using the multichannel input for my SACD/DVD-A player. So that creates a problem for the MCE on the BD/DVD input.


If I connect the MCE to the svid input for BD/DVD can I assign a different audio input? So BD/DVD would have an HDMI input associated with it and then when I'm not using the HDMI it would have the BD/DVD svid input paired with another unused audio input?

Unless... Can I connect the MCE to the CBL/SAT analog inputs (both audio and video) since they are unused and then assign that to BD/DVD?


My assumption was that you had to assign the corresponding aanalog inputs to the HDMI input but now I'm thinking that was a bad assumption.
 
1 - 20 of 733 Posts
Top