AVS Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

To start off, I am a complete and utter noob when it comes to this stuff. We are looking to get a system for our 50" plasma as sort of a Christmas present for ourselves. The plasma is a year old and I knew going in that the built-in-speakers were a little weak, but I have been supplementing them with a pair of old computer speakers, so truth be told even the cheapest HTIB is probably going to sound great to me.

I initially looked at Bose but others have talked me out of it. I have been looking at the Onkyo HT-S5300 and the S6300 for its up-conversion capabilities (what's an extra $50?).

Right now Amazon has those systems priced at $450 and $500.

I have read over this thread in its entirety so I think I know what I may be getting myself into with the S5300, but a lot of people insist you blow off HTIB kits and instead put one together yourself. That is all well and good if you are an expert, but I would have no idea where to start, and based on reading a few things here I don't see how a better system could be achieved for $400-$500. No one ever really put their money where their mouth is, so I am sure noobs like myself are still left scratching their heads and wondering how.

Can a better kit actually be pieced together for around $500? And I don't mean savaging craigslist for deals, more like, here is this receiver, here is this speaker set, put them together and magic happens. - OR - Is there is a better HTIB out there? Please share. The main goal is to create a good movie watching and game playing experience, music isn't going to be a huge issue for me, which to my understanding is where a lot of the criticisms of HTIBs come from.

Thanks in advance, don't tear into me too hard I mean well, lol.

·
Registered
42 Posts