AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 2854 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
<p>UPDATE 2/17/2011: I've not been watching the thread. If you want to update the first post, let me know via PM.<br><br>
Over at <a href="http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1124287" target="_blank">http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1124287</a> folks are getting fatigued and inundated with questions and posts regarding the recently added DLNA/UPnP functionality.<br><br>
Post your questions and comments here and hopefully someone will have the answer.<br><br><span style="font-size:large;"><b>FAQ:</b></span><br><span style="font-size:medium;">*Can this player stream digital media from network sources?</span><br>
Yes, as of official firmware released January 5th, 2010. This feature is currently experimental This feature can be accessed from the "My Network" icon in the "Home Menu" screen. It requires a DLNA-capable media server running on your computer. The supported media types are the common set of what the player can decode and what the media server can stream.<br><br><span style="font-size:medium;">*What formats are supported?</span><br>
Different formats are available for media streaming than playback from USB devices. They currently are:</p>
<ul><li>jpg</li>
<li>mkv</li>
<li>mp3</li>
<li>mpg</li>
<li>png</li>
<li>vob</li>
</ul><br><p><span style="font-size:medium;">*Media Server configuration</span><br>
Most media servers will serve up video which is supported by Oppo's DLNA implementation. Other formats require transcoding.<br><br><span style="font-size:small;"><b><a href="http://tversity.com/download/" target="_blank">TVersity</a></b> can be configured to stream compatible formats and transcoding unsupported video to MPEG video/MP3 audio.</span></p>
<br><ul><li>Install TVersity and the supplied codec pack.</li>
<li>Add this code to the end of "profiles.xml" found in "C:\\Program Files\\TVersity\\Media Server":<br>
(It's very possible that the profile id may vary from machine to machine. Needs verification.)<br><div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Code:</div>
<pre class="alt2" dir="ltr" style="margin:0px;padding:7px;border:1px inset;width:640px;height:498px;text-align:left;">

Oppo BDP-83 Disc Player
Oppo Digital Inc
BDP-83


















































</pre></div>
</li>
<li>Then restart the server.</li>
</ul><br><br><p><span style="font-size:small;"><b><a href="http://www.twonkyvision.de/" target="_blank">Twonkymedia Server</a></b> can be configured to stream compatible formats and transcode unsupported video. The transcoding documentation is poor. Many have reported issues getting it to work.</span></p>
<ul><li>Edit the clients.db file in C:\\Program Files\\TwonkyMedia\<br>
esources\\ and insert the following text before the final ">>":<br>
(for Mac "Show Package Contents" of TwonyMediaServer.app to find this folder)<br><div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Code:</div>
<pre class="alt2" dir="ltr" style="margin:0px;padding:7px;border:1px inset;width:640px;height:98px;text-align:left;">
>>
NA:Oppo Digital BDP-83 BluRay player
HH:BDP-83
TR:JPEG_HD,LPCM,MP3,VOB,WMV,MPG,PNG
DB:FIX
</pre></div>
</li>
<li>You will need to edit the *.location files in the /cgi-bin directory to match the paths of the binary files (i.e. "C:\\Program Files\\ffmpeg"). Notice: No trailing slash is necessary.</li>
<li>The included *.desc files will provide basic transcoding. Additional may be needed.</li>
<li>You may also need to add some MIME descriptions to the "transcoding.db" file in the same directory.<br><div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Code:</div>
<pre class="alt2" dir="ltr" style="margin:0px;padding:7px;border:1px inset;width:640px;height:178px;text-align:left;">
# additional for BDP-83
MKV,mkv,video/x-matroska
MKV,mkv,video/mkv
VOB,vob,video/dvd
AVI,avi,video/x-msvideo
DIVX,divx,video/divx
AAC,m4a,audio/x-aac
FLAC,flac,audio/x-flac
OGG,ogg,application/ogg
MKA,mka,audio/x-matroska
</pre></div>
</li>
</ul><br><br><p><span style="font-size:small;"><b><a href="http://www.dbpoweramp.com/asset-upnp-dlna.htm" target="_blank">Asset from Illustrate</a></b> (makers of DBPowerAmp) make a transcoding audio server that will serve and transcode to LPCM, even 24-bit FLAC and Apple Lossless. While the Oppo does not display bitrate via UPnP, Asset is sending at the appropriate rate without transcoding. 5.1 FLAC does not play correctly. Another user posted his experience here: <a href="http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=17887407&postcount=2829" target="_blank">http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...postcount=2829</a></span><br><br><span style="font-size:small;"><b><a href="http://www.foobar2000.org/components/view/foo_upnp" target="_blank">Foobar2000</a></b> have UPnP component add-on for their popular music player/library. Foobar will stream 96/24 LPCM for files with 2.0, 4.0, 5.0 channel.<br>
See <b><a href="http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?p=20018658#post20018658" target="_blank">This Post</a></b> for more details.</span><br><br><span style="font-size:small;"><b><a href="http://code.google.com/p/ps3mediaserver/" target="_blank">PS3 Media Server</a></b> version 1.20 (currently SVN) will have player profile capability.</span> There is a compiled Mac beta here: <a href="http://ps3mediaserver.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1635" target="_blank">http://ps3mediaserver.org/forum/view...php?f=7&t=1635</a>. Once you compile the SVN, drop into the java/renderers path (Mac build: "/Applications/PS3\\ Media\\ <a href="http://Server.app/Contents/Resources/Java/renderers/" target="_blank">Server.app/Contents/Resources/Java/renderers/</a>") a new file for the oppo, e.g. OppoBDP83.conf. Save as a text with the following code:</p>
<br><br><div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Code:</div>
<pre class="alt2" dir="ltr" style="margin:0px;padding:7px;border:1px inset;width:640px;height:386px;text-align:left;">
# ps3mediaserver renderer profile for Oppo BDP-83
# Refer to PS3.conf for help

RendererName=Oppo BDP-83
RendererIcon=pch.png
UserAgentSearch=BDP-83
Video=true
Audio=true
Image=true
SeekByTime=false
TranscodeVideo=MPEGAC3
TranscodeAudio=PCM
DefaultVBVBufSize=true
MuxH264ToMpegTS=true
MuxDTSToMpeg=true
WrapDTSIntoPCM=false
MuxLPCMToMpeg=false
MaxVideoBitrateMbps=0
MaxVideoWidth=0
MaxVideoHeight=0
H264Level41Limited=true
TranscodeExtensions=hdmov,hdm,flac,fla,dts,ogg,asf,asx,m2v,m4a,mov,mp4,iso,avi
StreamExtensions=mkv,jpg,mp3,mpg,pcm,png,vob
</pre></div>
<p>From there, You will be able to stream MKV and transcoding AVI. User <a href="http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/member.php?u=53137" target="_blank">kwolfman</a> had success streaming ISOs as well. See his post: <a href="http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=17927539&postcount=116" target="_blank">http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...&postcount=116</a>.<br><br><span style="font-size:small;"><b>Nearly any other UPnP/DLNA server will work (e.g. PlayOn, Playback, etc.) but will only be able to stream files natively playable via UPnP on the Oppo.</b></span></p>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
47 Posts
Just thought I'd add that I got PS3 Media Server to work with the Oppo. Unfortunately my desktop PC (old 3.0 GHz Northwood P4) isn't fast enough to handle transcoding HD. I plan on building a new PC in the near future though.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
<div class="quote-container"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>tubefreq</strong> <a href="/forum/post/17887797"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif" style=""></a><br><br>
Just thought I'd add that I got PS3 Media Server to work with the Oppo. Unfortunately my desktop PC (old 3.0 GHz Northwood P4) isn't fast enough to handle transcoding HD. I plan on building a new PC in the near future though.</div>
</div>
<br>
I'd like to hear how you configured it to recognize the Oppo. I tried on this end with a Mac but no success.
 

·
One-Man Content Creator
Joined
·
24,908 Posts
<div class="quote-container"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>Mallee</strong> <a href="/forum/post/17889333"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif" style=""></a><br><br>
Does the Oppo upscale the DLNA files through its Anchor Bay chip?</div>
</div>
<br>
Yes. Everything output through HDMI is treated the same.<br><br>
-Bill
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
47 Posts
<div class="quote-container"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>dizziness</strong> <a href="/forum/post/17888451"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif" style=""></a><br><br>
I'd like to hear how you configured it to recognize the Oppo. I tried on this end with a Mac but no success.</div>
</div>
<br>
I didn't really have to do anything to get the Oppo to see the server. You may have to restart one or or the other to get it to work. My desktop is a PC so I don't know what settings the Mac may require. I have a MBP, but all of my media files are on the PC so I haven't tried it in OS X.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,055 Posts
A newby question: if I set up Asset to do DNLA duties and transcode audio formats to LPCM, should I disable DNLA in WMP? In other words, should only one DNLA server be in use at a time?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
47 Posts
<div class="quote-container"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>Steve Goff</strong> <a href="/forum/post/17890234"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif" style=""></a><br><br>
A newby question: if I set up Asset to do DNLA duties and transcode audio formats to LPCM, should I disable DNLA in WMP? In other words, should only one DNLA server be in use at a time?</div>
</div>
<br>
I haven't tried running multiple servers at the same time, but looking at the network menu (on the Oppo), it seems that you would just select which server you want to stream from on the Oppo. I would assume that WMP would remain dormant while Asset is streaming. Have you tried it yet?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,365 Posts
<div class="quote-container"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>Steve Goff</strong> <a href="/forum/post/17890234"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif" style=""></a><br><br>
A newby question: if I set up Asset to do DNLA duties and transcode audio formats to LPCM, should I disable DNLA in WMP? In other words, should only one DNLA server be in use at a time?</div>
</div>
<br>
I've run multiple DNLA servers - it's not a problem. You just need to pick which server you want to use when you select "Network" on the Home Menu.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,055 Posts
<div class="quote-container"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>gonk</strong> <a href="/forum/post/17890743"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif" style=""></a><br><br>
I've run multiple DNLA servers - it's not a problem. You just need to pick which server you want to use when you select "Network" on the Home Menu.</div>
</div>
<br>
Thanks, I'll try it.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
11,423 Posts
OK, so it looks like the above *does* convert to PCM...at least, that is the icon I get on the screen when accessing FLAC files.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
766 Posts
So you can't stream .avi movies over upnp and watch them?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,055 Posts
Asset was very easy to set up and works well, transcoding all of my audio files on the fly to PCM. I do get some audio breaks from time to time, sometimes I select one track and the next track plays, and sometimes it starts a track over. I'd like to know how to iron out these kinks, since otherwise this is exactly what I was looking for, a seemingly bit-perfect way to play audio files over a network.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,154 Posts
Just got my setup working this AM. First thing I did was research. Found this site to be very helpful:<br><br><a href="http://www.rbgrn.net/content/21-how-to-choose-dlna-media-server-windows-mac-os-x-or-linux" target="_blank">http://www.rbgrn.net/content/21-how-...-os-x-or-linux</a><br><br>
While it appears to be dated due to the published date, the links I tried were all current.<br><br>
Will also add that I ended up using AssetUPNP because it's tailored towards audio, which is my main interest. Took 10 minutes from download to playing a file on the Oppo.<br><br>
Styln
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Thanks Dizziness, great post. I'm streaming most formats nicely with TVersity & your full profile.xml. I assume this slightly different version of the Oppo profile section superceeds your previously posted version (below) & accomodates the Jan 5th firmware release?<br><br><br><br>
Are you still recommending the K-Lite Mega Codec pack as well? Wondering if it will help eliminate the pixelation I see with some 1080p AVC content in MKV containers? Some play nicely over my 100MB LAN & others don't. I know this can be complicated (codecs/bit rates/etc.), but I'd be interested if you have experienced the same & found a solution using TVersity & the BDP-83.<br><br>
TIA,<br>
Sam2000
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,154 Posts
<div class="quote-container"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>Sam2000</strong> <a href="/forum/post/17891540"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif" style=""></a><br><br>
Thanks Dizziness, great post. I'm streaming most formats nicely with TVersity & your full profile.xml. I assume this slightly different version of the Oppo profile section superceeds your previously posted version (below) & accomodates the Jan 5th firmware release?<br><br><br><br>
Are you still recommending the K-Lite Mega Codec pack as well? Wondering if it will help eliminate the pixelation I see with some 1080p AVC content in MKV containers? Some play nicely over my 100MB LAN & others don't. I know this can be complicated (codecs/bit rates/etc.), but I'd be interested if you have experienced the same & found a solution using TVersity & the BDP-83.<br><br>
TIA,<br>
Sam2000</div>
</div>
<br>
I've used the K-Lite Mega Codec pack on many a computer over the years and it has always worked as expected. No experience with TVersity though.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,648 Posts
Anyone else having trouble with full rate DVD/BD MKV files? They hardlock my player 30seconds to 5mins in (Always the same lock time for a particular file).<br><br>
Also, if you dont need transcoding then Serviio is a nice light weight and free DLNA server option.
 

·
One-Man Content Creator
Joined
·
24,908 Posts
<div class="quote-container"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>Krobar</strong> <a href="/forum/post/17892137"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif" style=""></a><br><br>
Also, if you dont need transcoding then Serviio is a nice light weight and free DLNA server option.</div>
</div>
<br>
Are you using this with the BDP-83? I'm keeping a server list in the FAQ.<br><br>
-Bill
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,648 Posts
<div class="quote-container"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>wmcclain</strong> <a href="/forum/post/17892168"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif" style=""></a><br><br>
Are you using this with the BDP-83? I'm keeping a server list in the FAQ.<br><br>
-Bill</div>
</div>
<br>
Yes, it works fine. The problems with full rate BD/DVD MKVs are exactly the same when using Twonky so I dont think it is the DNLA server software that is causing the problem.<br><br>
Further info on the problems with MKVs, there seem to be two issues:<br><br>
Lockups - This happens with all DVD and BD rips I have made. Interestingly I managed to use MakeMKV with a music HDDVD and it works perfectly, the only rip I have made that does (Most HDDVD wont rip with MakeMKV due to limited support). The whole player and interface locks up, I have to hold the power button down for 3-5 seconds to get it to switch off.<br><br>
Slowdown - This seems to happen when the Bit rates exceed about 35Mbit/sec.
 
1 - 20 of 2854 Posts
Top