Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Question on resolutions

Ok, I am new to this whole Home Theater/Display thing. I am sure I have already made some bad mistakes, BUT I would like to do my best to fix them.

First I bought a Sony Home-Theater-In-A-Box with Progressive Scan DVD player (NOT integrated into Receiver). I know, it is probably one of the seven deadly sins around this forum. I bought it a year ago knowing I would be getting an HDTV.

I recently purchased a Sony 32HS510. I think this was a smarter choice than the HTIB system. Anyway, I currently have the DVD player set to Progressive. My understanding is that this send a 480p signal to the tv which displays it unchanged. Is this a fact? or does it convert it? I am connecting DVD to TV by component Video cables.

Would it be better to set the DVD player to Interlace and let the TV convert it to 1080i (I believe this is the TV's native format)? Would the TV do this convertion or just display 480p anyway? There was a thread on this forum that mentioned some DVD players do this converting better than TV's. It isn't any of the fancy DVD players listed there. As I mentioned it is a Sony DVD w/ Progressive Scan. I think it was the 2nd or 3rd model from their top of the line a year ago.

Sorry for the length of this message, thanks for any help

·
Registered
814 Posts
Yes, a 480p signal will be unchanged by the TV (not converted). 480i's are always upconverted to 480p automatically by HDTV's.

Its better to let the DVD progressive scan the image instead of the TV regardless of what TV or progressive scan DVD player you have.

Though a TV's native resolution might be 1080i, it only upconverts 480i sources to 480p, not 1080i. Currently, only some dvd players (like samsung 931) can upconvert 480i to 1080i or 720p. In short, the only thing your TV can display in 1080i is an incoming 1080i or 720p source.

Azanon

·
Registered
3,335 Posts
Quote: