AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
310 Posts
They (Outlaw) have indicated that they will only put out a firmware update to include an Auto-EQ if it met "their" standards.

This might be a weasel word get them off the hook - so to speak.

I imagine if the Sherwood version gets "rave" reviews, it might be possible. If not, then I doubt you will see an Auto-Eq in the Outlaw unit.

Further, if the Sherwood requires a chip upgrade to enable Auto-EQ, there is a good possibility the Outlaw would require the same chip upgrade. I have no first hand knowledge that Outlaw uses the exact same chip - but it would be a good guess.

Outlaw may be reluctant to get into a chip swap just to enable Auto-EQ. It might be easier to say, "we prefer a more robust version " and that would provide them plausible cover for not doing anything.

However, if Outlaw was to provide an Auto-EQ (in almost any form), it would make it a very compelling pre-pro for it's price.

·
Registered
7,822 Posts
No, I think you'll eventually see an auto-EQ on the 990, and that it will be a s/w (not chip) upgrade. But don't hold your breath. Outlaw has indicated that it isn't a top priority.

FWIW, I wouldn't use it if it had it. I am more than capable of doing my own EQ, thank you very much. ;)

·
Registered
4,054 Posts
That's why I am using my Yamaha htr 5790 as a pre/pro with 5 channels amplified which yielded good results.

·
Registered
385 Posts
This is Outlaw's response to the question. To me it sounds like its definitely in the plans, but it also doesn't sound like its in the near future.