AVS Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2,851 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm having some O/C issues with my setup.

E2220 and Abit IN73HD

The issues are I'm a noob and have never done this before. I have done alot of research and have also tried alot of attempts and configurations, with no luck.

I have tried linked and unlinked. Even with the stock speed using a different config, it wont boot. I tried unlinked with a QDR FSB of 1200 (300 FSB), and a multiplier of 8 with the ram @ 800 (same as stock setting), and it will POST but wont boot Windows. I don't understand why since I'm using the same speed... I have also tried linked with the ram at 1200.

All other settings, I can't even get it to POST, and I'm getting annoyed with resetting my CMOS...

Any advice or settings with this config will be appreciated.

I would like to run it at or near 3 GHZ, but I will take what I can get

EDIT: After messing around in the bios, I found that the EIST setting needed to be disabled.. I'm at 2.7 right now, gonna see if it will take 3.0

·
Registered
2,851 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I can't seem to get past 2.8.

Using 930 FSB (QDR), 12x Multiplier, linked and auto.

Stock voltage. I tried to move the voltage up, but still no go at 935-950 FSB (QDR)

Should I try higher settings still, increase the voltage more, try unlinked for RAM, decrease the multiplier and increase the FSB...???

·
Registered
233 Posts
I suggest finding all your bottle necks in your overclock.

Do so by turning your multiplier all the way down to minimum. starting from a working FSB speed and turn it up untill it fails on Orthos stress tests. that is your cpu/ram/FSB limit.

Once you know that start playing with ram speeds/dividers. likely need to run it 1:1 with FSB which you can verify with cpu-z program.

·
Registered
2,851 Posts
Discussion Starter #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by eminence55 /forum/post/14332390

I suggest finding all your bottle necks in your overclock.