AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
257 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've just decided on the Pioneer 106S DVD-Rom drive for my HTPC. The problem is that in my country I can only get my hands on a unit with the standard white face.

Because I'm wanting to install this baby into a black HTPC case, I need to somehow paint the face black.

Problem is, I've never done this before and I've got NO idea how to do this.

Immediate questions are....

1) What kind of paint to use (enamel or acrylic)

2) How should the paint be applied (brush, sprayed)

3) Any special things I need to watch out for?

I've heard that enamel spray-paint and plastic things don't mix particularly well, but I don't know for sure.

I'm hoping some old-hand DIYer would be willing to give me a few pointers and set me on the right path.

Can anyone help?

·
Registered
1,728 Posts
:) PlastiKote Vinyl Dye my friend, vinyl dye :)

Best Stuff I have ever used, limited on colors but it absorbs in to the plastic so that you get a nice even coat and symbols on the drive dont dissapear in to a mess of paint. Even after a few layers :)

Hope you can get that stuff in your area it can be found at most automotive stores here

·
Registered
535 Posts