Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings,

It looks like many of us are in a dilemma between JVC 60/65/70 vs. Pana R56. I started out with JVC, went to Pana, then went back to JVC, and now I am with Pana.

I am not an expert but it seems like picture quality is slightly better (i.e, sharper image) in film mode for JVC. Pana does have a better video mode but you can tweak the JVC to put out decent picture under video. Hands down, Pana wins in its MP3 capabilities (digital out and being able to select title). Some cliam that pana's build quality is poor but I disagree -- Pana is made in Japan and JVC is made in China (I know, I shouldn't make presuppositions like this but historically I've had better luck with made in Japan electronics).

I am so confused now. I would love to get your thoughts on this. Does JVC really have a better picture output or are my eyes playing tricks on me. BTW, I do have a HD TV that doesn't do anamorphic squeeze so downconversion feature is very important to me.

Speaking of which, are there any 720p dvd players? What about the xbox?

thanks

·
Registered
271 Posts
Trust me, im right in the mix with you. Ive recently decided to sell my rp56 to get a rp91. I impulse bought a jvc 60 from ubid for 150. Im not sure what the heck to do anymore! I guess I can let my eyes be the judge, but I already have a sony s530, a pan rp56, skyworth 1050p, the now a jvc s60 on the way. Am i crazy?

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You are not crazy. You are like many other enthusiasts -- you want the most bang for your money.

I am going back to BestBuy this weekend and re-purchasing JVC 65GD. I just hope they won't call security on me or ban me from ever shopping at Best Buy -- this is my 6th return on DVD's. I think we all have issues or just have too much time on our hands :)

·
Registered
271 Posts