AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys just joined the site! i do have experience in home theater i was a custom installer dealt with pioneers mostly since they are the best plasma. but i dont have that kind of money so im looking into getting a Panasonic G10 ill be doing a lot of gaming with my ps3 on it a little worried about IR and Flashing. I just want to know your thoughts. Iv also been looking at the Sony Xbr7 40" they are both around 1000 bux. I dont really want a Lcd due to i just dont like the picture all that well its not as clear as a plasma not as good blacks. thanks for reading will appreciate your responses.

Kyle

·
Registered
824 Posts
Pick your poison:

LCD

+ Clearest picture

+ Can be better in rooms with a lot of light. (Some of the more glossy LCD screens can have some off putting reflections of their own, in a bright room, though...)

- Worst blacks (some newer LCDs have greatly improved black levels, but there's still some crushing going on in their attempts...)

- Motion blur (regardless of whether you enable AMP/MotionFlow at 120 or 240hz, it's still there...)

- Higher priced.

Plasma:

+ Good Blacks

+ Better at motion

+ Cheaper

- Not great for rooms with a lot of light.

- Possible image retention

- Possible phosphor trailing

- Not as clear of a picture due to "dithering"

Again, each technology has it's pluses and minuses. There isn't a perfect one yet. You just buy what you can deal with.

I probably missed some pros/cons up there too. But it's merely to illustrate that, either way, you'll probably be dissatisfied in one way or another... LIVE WITH IT!
Or as the guy said up there, stick with your CRT... (Those have issues too...)

·
Registered
332 Posts
You should switch for a XBOX 360 if you want better picture & take advantage of a plasma screen.