AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
587 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Could anyone tell me if the MX500 will work with the Panny 300u projector? I would like to be able to turn it on and off, change aspect ratios, and access the menus? I have just started to investigate univ. remotes and don't know much about them.

Thanks for your help.

~ Jay

·
Registered
5,719 Posts
The MX-500 has the ability to learn every command from all of your original remotes, so it can duplicate all the commands on your Panny's remote.

·
Registered
589 Posts
I'm using the MX-500 with the 300U. No discrete codes for power on/off, inputs, aspect ratios, etc.

All functions work (just like the original remote, meaning cycle through inputs, etc.), but discrete codes would be nice.

Ken

·
Registered
587 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks Ken, as I am new to univ. remotes, please describe discrete codes. Do you mean 3 digit codes you can enter? and without this option, you are forced to use the Panny remote to "teach the MX500?

Thanks

~ Jay

·
Registered
5,719 Posts
Examples of discrete codes are separate on/off commands and direct input selection as Ken mentioned. They come in handy with advanced programmable remotes that have macro capability. A macro enables you to push one button and turn on your projector, your receiver (or preamp), your video source (satellite, DVD etc.) and switch inputs on your projector. If all you have is a single Power button or a scrolling input button, it is difficult to program a macro that will work properly no matter what state any of the devices are in. If the discrete commands are not on your original remote you have to obtain them from a different source. This is true with virtually any universal remote.