Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All:

Has anyone done a feature comparison between Panasonic's 50PHD7UY and NEC's 50XM4? Folks in this forum generally seem very pleased with the 7UY, because of its black levels and a host of other reasons. It also seems to be the consensus that the 50XM4 has really good color/vividness, but the black levels are arguably not as good as Panasonic's, and that it is very difficult to put NEC plasmas "through their paces" and thoroughly evaluate their picture quality as very few B&M stores have them. I'm a relative newbie in the whole plasma arena, and what I would like to know is whether anyone has compared the units' features independently of picture quality -- even though I know that when buying a plasma, picture quality (as it is perceived by the purchaser) is the first and foremost consideration.

Here are the comparisons I've been able to make so far, based on the manuals and AVS Forum posts/FAQ - if anyone else has other observations or corrections, I would very much appreciate the input:

- The 50XM4 does not have blade configurability; it has one DVI input (with HDCP) that comes standard. The 7UY has blade configurability, and will accept not only blades with DVI/HDCP but also blades with HDMI (coming soon).

- The 50XM4 has an intriguing "loop out" capacity which appears to enable it to route a video signal to other monitors. This may be useful when using an HDTiVo, which can output either HDMI or analog video but not both. (I realize that the second monitor would only be able to watch TiVo when that signal is the selected input for the 50XM4.) The 7UY does not appear to have any similar feature.

- The 50XM4 and the 7UY can both do "split screen" operations.

- Both units appear to have discrete IR codes for inputs and on/off, assuming that the 5UY's codes work on the 7UY as has been stated previously on this forum.