AVS Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys.

Only after reading this forum do I learn that really good things are not necessarily sold on Amazon. I bought a Logitech Z2300 speakers and in my opinion .... garbage. Loud, bass, no mids .... sound quality poor.

Being a musician I can hear the quality in sound and truly enjoy when I get it.

I did my research and found that under $300, some good spears are

Swan M200mkII

AudioEngine A5

Swan M10 (kinda ok)

etc.

My question ..........

Will I really hear the $300 speaker quality with a standard sound card that came with my PC 3 years ago??? Really, am I wasting time and money on these high end speakers>?

thank you.

·
Registered
5,454 Posts
it is really hard to tell, but if you have true hi-bitrate mp3, WMA, or lossless digital files you will get better decoding with a new, higher end soundcard.

One thing is for sure, your existing card will sound a lot better played on something like the M200MKII speakers. If, after some extended listening you feel a newer, better sound card is needed - then you buy one based on your testing, not an opinion.

·
Registered
4,122 Posts
You won't be wasting your money if you bought new $300 speakers.

1) New speakers like Audioengine are much more neutral than any of the Logitechs. You will definitely hear an improvement there. Your built in soundcard won't affect that

2) New speakers will play louder and more cleanly than Logitech. You will definitely hear an improvement there.

3) New speakers will be more detailed sounding. So you can separate instruments better from each other.

Where you want a new soundcard over computer soundcard

- Built in sound can have a lot of background hiss, pops, ticks, and pick up interference from inside your computer. A new soundcard may help there.