Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
K,

I know some of this has probably been asked before, but i'm just tryin' to hash out a purchase before I sink the money. I'm really a newbie when it comes to the plasma technology (er even displays for that matter). I've been to a few shops in the area to look at displays and i'm pretty set on the 503cmx. I just have a few questions about cards, etc:

1. I notice a *lot* of people on here buy from dell. Is that because of packaging er warranties? Is there something i'm missing?

2. Does this display generally come packaged w/a table stand?

3. Aurora card vs. pda-5002. I'm pretty sure I only need the pda-5002, but i'm trying to get some "warm fuzzies" about this purchase. I intend to hook this up to a dvd player, a SD directv receiver, and maybe a 'puter down the road (all devices except maybe the 'puter switched through a denon 5803 receiver). I'm not real concerned w/HDCP just yet. Is that the only reason for payin' for the aurora? Is the pda-5002 gonna b a good choice here?

4. I do like the bezel on the elite series televisions sets. Is there a way to get something similar for the 503cmx?

Thanx for the help folx.

·
Registered
1,511 Posts
1. The Dell warranty is the same as others unless you buy an extended warranty (don't know if Dell offers one). I found better prices than Dell's on a recent 503 purchase.

2. The 503 comes with a table stand which should be bolted to the table top. Could tip over otherwise.

3. The Aurora card should be a better choice not only for HDCP protection but should be a better scaler.

4. Many Pro1000 owners (including myself) have removed the Urishi frame and are storing it. Others may be willing to sell as it will fit a 503cmx.

·
Registered
1,238 Posts