AVS Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Noob here so please take it easy on me...I am in the very beginning stages of piecing together a ht system. I've read this forum for months (I researched it extensively when trying to decide what plasma to purchase which ended up being the Pioneer 5070). Next I'd like to get a new receiver, speakers & sub. I've been lurking on the subwoofer thread & my choice based on numerous comments is the hsu vft-2 mk 3. So now my question about the receiver...does anyone have experience/knowledge with the Pioneer 816 being capable of powering this sub to it's capacity? I have not yet decided on the speakers so I can't specifically take that into consideration yet. The other receivers I'm looking at are the Onkyo 504, Yamaha 5960 or possibly the Pioneer 1016 but I'm not really that concerned with hdmi. The other deciding factor is I'd like to get it at BB due to coupons & reward discounts that I've obtained & they do not carry Onkyo.

My living area where the system will be set up is 4000 cubic feet & it will mainly be used for ht, very little music or gaming. Let me know if I need to give any other specs but my main question is will the 816 suffice w/ that sub?

·
Registered
26 Posts
Clovers32, I may be just as n00b as you, but I seem to be in a position to help. At the moment I have just about everything on your shopping list in my room.

As for any receiver "powering [a] sub to it's capacity", I'm not sure that's how it works. The HSU sub is a "powered" sub and has its own amp and power cord. So i think the 816k or 504 should be able to handle it. My understanding is that certain recievers may have more/better control over the bass signal, but similar volumes when using a powered sub.