AVS Forum banner

41 - 60 of 2753 Posts

·
Banned
Joined
·
1,050 Posts
Discussion Starter · #41 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShockFett  /t/1510500/reset-guide-pioneer-9g-kuro-take-2/30#post_24190712


Will this cable be fine?

Check this out on AMZN: TRENDnet USB to RS-232 Serial Converter TU-S9 (White) http://amzn.com/B0007T27H8



Also, being completely new and never actually seeing the menus. A quick YouTube video would be awesome! Just a suggestion.

that adapter should work but you also need a serial cable.


i can put up pics from the servicemenu later
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
470 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by pg_ice  /t/1510500/reset-guide-pioneer-9g-kuro-take-2/30#post_24190342


gamma near black is probably higher thats why

you need to raise YKNOFS1D or YKNOFSAD


set brightness to where you had it a +1

put up the black clipping file that is all black i asume

start to raise only YKNOFS1D and see if the blinking bars starts to show up.


also keep an eye on the blacks with the 5% white window.

raising YKNOFS1D to high will change the blacks to dark gray.


what are your settings for YKNOFS1D or YKNOFSAD now?


wxman has his YKNOFS1D at 123 and YKNOFSA D 140

both higher than the recomended settings
I put Brightness to +1.


I lowered YKNOFSAD to factory default of 128.


I raised YKNOFS1D to 158 (from 112).


I'm in a pitch black room.


On the black clipping pattern, bars 17, 18, and 19 disappear completely into the black background. (I can see bars 20 - 25 blinking.)


On the 5% white window, there is a very, very slight glow to the black background in my pitch dark room. The glow is so faint, I have to wait a while for my eyes to notice it.


It concerns me that bars 17, 18, and 19 are not blinking.


I honestly don't know what to do now.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
1,050 Posts
Discussion Starter · #43 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn1  /t/1510500/reset-guide-pioneer-9g-kuro-take-2/30#post_24191827


It concerns me that bars 17, 18, and 19 are not blinking.


I honestly don't know what to do now.

up to 20 is great

i have only bars 20-25 blinking and the details near black is great.

i can raise brightness one step to get them all the way up to 18 but i think the near black details looks more washed out then.

i cant see any more details near black with the bars up to 18 blinking compared to up to 20.

so one doesnt have to be so picky with that.


i can see now when testing that neither YKNOFSAD and YKNOFS1D affects gamma or blacklevel that much.

the ONLY thing you should do instead is to raise Brightness.

thats why i recomend a calibration after the reset



set YKNOFSAD to 128 again and YKNOFS1D to 112 and adjust brightness.

its just to bad that your ISF profiles is locked

its so simple to just raise brightness one step for the profiles in controlcal.

cant you have them locked up again?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
470 Posts
Thanks for the information, pg_ice. I put YKNOFSAD and YKNOFS1D back to their original settings and adjusted brightness. I'm happy with the black level. I'm going to give my 500M some time to settle, then I'll get it calibrated.
 

·
Registered
Anthem AVM 70, LG 55C7, NAD M27, Apple TV 4K, Auralic Altair G1, OPPO UDP-203, MA Gold, PC13-Ultra
Joined
·
783 Posts
And of course I did the reset yesterday. It does look much better though. My blacks blend with the bezel again. I didn't realize how bad they had gotten until I started running some slides. It had all gone dark grey. I do have some black rain and IR now, but I think I will let it settle for a while before I get too upset. The main thing I have noticed is that the centre of my screen seems a bit yellow on an all-white signal. I suspect this is where all of the action usually is as it is similar to the tiny bit of burn in I've seen from playing video games in the corners. Hopefully a few more Elite owners will chime in and we'll get an idea on what should be changed on our sets. Looking at the "Star" clipping patterns on the Disney WOW disc, It is almost perfect, but with my current ISF settings, the +1 black star blends into the background, and I can still see the +1 white star. I can also see the outlines around the checkerboards/outlines, like when you turn DRE on and off and you can see the edges of the long bars on the Spears and Munsell disc. I do have image retention after it shuts down, so the Oppo logo glows for a bit, but I seem to remember seeing that when I first got the set, so that may sort itself out on its own.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
11,424 Posts
Temporary mage retention post shutdown is not unique to the Kuros...it's inherent to all phosphor-based displays (as far as I know). I am surprised to hear that yours had cleared up prior to the reset.


Also, you have a 101, do you not? I don't think that's qualified as an Elite but instead a Monitor and is actually not too dissimilar to the 500M.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
1,050 Posts
Discussion Starter · #47 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by MitchPope  /t/1510500/reset-guide-pioneer-9g-kuro-take-2/30#post_24194864


The main thing I have noticed is that the centre of my screen seems a bit yellow on an all-white signal. I suspect this is where all of the action usually is

Great that the reset worked!


i had the same problem but mine wasnt yellow

i had the magenta misfires only in the center and the left corner of the screen


to clean up the white field Raise VOL SUS some

if you cant get it cleaned up with VOL SUS around 170-180 then there is one more thing to do but i can take that later

Quote:
Originally Posted by MitchPope  /t/1510500/reset-guide-pioneer-9g-kuro-take-2/30#post_24194864


on the Disney WOW disc,

whats that?

can i get it somewhere?
 

·
Registered
Anthem AVM 70, LG 55C7, NAD M27, Apple TV 4K, Auralic Altair G1, OPPO UDP-203, MA Gold, PC13-Ultra
Joined
·
783 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97  /t/1510500/reset-guide-pioneer-9g-kuro-take-2/30#post_24194889


Temporary mage retention post shutdown is not unique to the Kuros...it's inherent to all phosphor-based displays (as far as I know). I am surprised to hear that yours had cleared up prior to the reset.


Also, you have a 101, do you not? I don't think that's qualified as an Elite but instead a Monitor and is actually not too dissimilar to the 500M.

A 101 is a Signature Elite, which is a monitor. Same service manual as the 500M.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
11,424 Posts
Well, the guide definitely appears applicable to the 9.5G panels (101FD, 500M) at least based on your results and those of others. The Elite TVs (111FD, 151FD) might be another story.
 

·
Registered
Anthem AVM 70, LG 55C7, NAD M27, Apple TV 4K, Auralic Altair G1, OPPO UDP-203, MA Gold, PC13-Ultra
Joined
·
783 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97  /t/1510500/reset-guide-pioneer-9g-kuro-take-2/30#post_24194920


Well, the guide definitely appears applicable to the 9.5G panels (101FD, 500M) at least based on your results and those of others. The Elite TVs (111FD, 151FD) might be another story.

I think the concern is how far off the Monitors are in their settings from other 9G sets. So, the reset procedure is the same, but where to start after that is where there is a concern and why we've been excluded from the guide. I am curious if there are any 141 owners who have done the reset or have looked at the settings to see if they are more like a 101, or closer to the other 9G panels.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
487 Posts
I plan to access my 141 soon to see where the settings are actually at.


Does anyone know if using kurocontrol you are able to access the service menu?
 

·
Registered
Anthem AVM 70, LG 55C7, NAD M27, Apple TV 4K, Auralic Altair G1, OPPO UDP-203, MA Gold, PC13-Ultra
Joined
·
783 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShockFett  /t/1510500/reset-guide-pioneer-9g-kuro-take-2/30#post_24196907


I plan to access my 141 soon to see where the settings are actually at.


Does anyone know if using kurocontrol you are able to access the service menu?

I used KuroControl to get to mine.
 

·
Registered
Anthem AVM 70, LG 55C7, NAD M27, Apple TV 4K, Auralic Altair G1, OPPO UDP-203, MA Gold, PC13-Ultra
Joined
·
783 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShockFett  /t/1510500/reset-guide-pioneer-9g-kuro-take-2/30#post_24197823


Can you please share how?
PM sent.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
487 Posts
Thank you so much for the pictures in the guide!


I have two signature models and a 500m. I'm going to wait to do this now.


Mitch do you want to know the voltage number on the 141 before reset correct? If it's as easy as just scrolling through the SM. I can post those once I have time to do so.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
487 Posts
Per guide


"Page Down once to get to PANEL -2 ADJ (+) where the WB settings and ABL settings are

Press Enter to get in to PANEL -2 ADJ (+)"


We don't actually adjust wb and abl?


What is the command to exit the SM with remote?
 

·
Registered
Anthem AVM 70, LG 55C7, NAD M27, Apple TV 4K, Auralic Altair G1, OPPO UDP-203, MA Gold, PC13-Ultra
Joined
·
783 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShockFett  /t/1510500/reset-guide-pioneer-9g-kuro-take-2/30#post_24197952



Mitch do you want to know the voltage number on the 141 before reset correct? If it's as easy as just scrolling through the SM. I can post those once I have time to do so.

Yes, if you can list the first 8 of them, we are curious about whether they are similar to a 101 or a 500M
 

·
Registered
Anthem AVM 70, LG 55C7, NAD M27, Apple TV 4K, Auralic Altair G1, OPPO UDP-203, MA Gold, PC13-Ultra
Joined
·
783 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShockFett  /t/1510500/reset-guide-pioneer-9g-kuro-take-2/30#post_24197990


Per guide


"Page Down once to get to PANEL -2 ADJ (+) where the WB settings and ABL settings are

Press Enter to get in to PANEL -2 ADJ (+)"


We don't actually adjust wb and abl?


What is the command to exit the SM with remote?

Not that I've seen, those values should be mostly 500, but I don't remember seeing what the ABL value should be. I just left those alone on mine for now. My first value was 515 and the second was 496, the rest were 500.


Not sure about the remote, I think you need a dedicated Service Remote to turn it on and off. I just send it the FACS00 command.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
487 Posts
Here is my numbers from my KURO 141 Signature Elite


Build Date: 10.2008

Hours: 6662


QAJ

128

068

018

105

063

086

096

143

128


******128128128128128128128128128128128128128128128***1**61


I will do my other 141 build date Sept 08 maybe after the game.
 
41 - 60 of 2753 Posts
Top