Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since I am new to Home Theatre this may seem obvious but:

Why do I not get any subwoofer response on music CDs when they are played through the DVD player that does on movies?

I know that music is only 2 channels but should Pro-Logic or any other setting get the sub working?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have already learned a ton from the helpful folks here.

Thanks.

·
Registered
6,168 Posts
If you mean the 45A player, it, along with many universal players has an issue with the LFE/Sub channel. It is low relative to the main channels.

I am sure that this has been discussed here. I KNOW it has been discussed at the Home Theater Forum. If you search on the subject of "Low LFE" you will find much discussion.

Bottom, line...the bass is not missing, just low. You will need to compensate by increasing the sub/LFE level relative to the main channels.

And, I have had an ongoing e-mail exchange with Pioneer (since October). They do not feel its a problem....although I also do not think the understand the problem.

BGL

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the info. I'll search on Low LFE.

Funny talking to their support. They really offered no response and I continued to try to prod them for info during the dicsussion.

·
Registered
707 Posts
LFE levels don't have anything to do with playing CDs because CDs don't have an LFE channel.

In the absence of an LFE channel, the only bass that will go to the subwoofer is redirected bass below the crossover point in the receiver's active subwoofer crossover.

By definition, any speaker that is set to "high-pass" or "small" will play from the crossover point on up and the bass from those channels will be redirected to the powered subwoofer. Conversely, any speaker set to "full range" or "large" will play its own bass and no bass will be redirected to the subwoofer from those channels.