AVS Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

Much to my wife's chagrin, I am posting pictures of our "junk room" which will eventually be converted to a dedicated home theater. I am fairly new to this, but I've been lurking on the forums for a couple of months. Here are the pics of the room (don't laugh):

Here's a Sketchup image of the plan I'm currently thinking about:

Questions:

1. Is this setup ok for a 7.1 system, or is the back row too close to the back wall?

2. I'm planning on purchasing a Panasonic PT-AE4000 projector and 136" 2.35:1 Carada BW screen. Any feedback on these choices?

3. I'm thinking I'll go with a two-tier riser since the home theater is already dropped 12". That is of course if I go with two rows of seats. I'm really trying to decide if one row of 4 seats would be better, but I'm not sure if 14' is enough space for this. I would probably have to push the seats up against the left wall instead of centering them. I really think it's going to be pretty rare that I'll have more than 4 people using the theater any any time.

4. I'm considering purchasing 6 Berkline 13217's from Roman. I am trying to decide if adding Buttkickers is worth the expense. Any input here? Any feedback on the 13217's?

5. Any other comments?

Thanks!

·
RETIRED theater builder
36,597 Posts
Make the back riser 7 ft deep you will still have 12 ft+ viewing for the first row. You need at least 6 1/2 for the berks to recline.

You can add Aura Pro bass shakers instead of Berkline factory Butt Kickers it you want to save money. (partsexpress.com). Not as powerful but still create the effect.

·
Registered
25 Posts
IMO, the screen size may be a little too big for the front row.

Great choice on the screeen! Carada is A #1

Projector - I personally prefer the Epson brand, but I have heard some good things about the Panasonic too

·
Registered
1,902 Posts
I probably wouldn't do the two tiered riser.