AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
1,936 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As you can tell by my post count, I'm no newbie here, but I am a complete newbie when it comes to "Bass Shakers".

Where can I learn all that I need to know about them (what I need, how to set them up, etc.) in basic, non-electrician terms? Such as, "Why do I need a second amp?", etc.

Thanks so much,

·
Registered
1,358 Posts
Markito,

As an experienced member, you should know that a simple search for 'bass shakers' is going to give you PLENTY of reading material. :D

As for the specific question as to why you need a second amp... Bass shakers work on the same LFE output as a subwoofer (the majority of the time). And as such, you'd need some type of amp to drive the shakers.

BTW, if there are any specific questions that you can't answer with a search, check back in and let me know... I'll be glad to answer.

·
Registered
1,936 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ouch!

Shudda' known. :(:D

Just wondered if there was an FAQ for dummies somewhere, or something.

·
Registered
42 Posts
i'll help you out cause sometimes i don't feel like searching either. Bass shakes need something to power them, it can be an amp or a second reciever. I had an old reciever laying around so i used that. I just split the subwoofer output with a "Y" adapter and ran the one side to my sub and the other to the second reciever. Now the second reciever gets the signal that the sub is getting. I just turn the 2nd reciever on and set it to whatever input i ran the adapter into and adjust the volume till i can feel the shaking that i want. They are really cool and really add to the expirience. They just shake your chair, or whatever you hook them to when the bass hits. Great addition to any home theater, and they are very cheap. I got mine for $30 per pair.

·
Registered
1,936 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Very cool. Thanks so much Tom.