AVS Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, Im new to the surround sound world and have a question on choosing a receiver. The set up im about to purchase is (2) klipsch f-3's for fronts, (2) klipsch s-3's for rears and a klipsch c-3 for center (will be adding a sub in the future). I have been looking at the yamaha rx-v565, v665, v765, and the pioneer vsx-919ah-k. I want to make sure I purchase a receiver large enough for these speakers. Which receiver would be best for this set up? All comments and opinions are appreciated. If you think I should consider another receiver please let me know.

·
Registered
29,113 Posts
The 765 would probably be "best" but that doesn't mean the others wouldn't work very well too. Klipsch are very efficient speakers so it doesn't take a lot of power to get them going.

Like the other poster said, give us a budget to work with and the other components involved.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The components hooked to it will be a blue ray player, xbox 360, and a wii. I will using the system mainly for tv (football) and movies, very little music. My max budget is $500.00 for a receiver.

Another question, when watching tv are only hd channels available for surround sound?

·
Registered
2,281 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by bjames99 /forum/post/17023064

The components hooked to it will be a blue ray player, xbox 360, and a wii. I will using the system mainly for tv (football) and movies, very little music. My max budget is $500.00 for a receiver.

Another question, when watching tv are only hd channels available for surround sound?

several modes (pro logic 2/2x/2z, neo6, proprietary modes) will turn a 2 channel signal into a 5.1/7.1/9.1 signal so you can have surround sound from even a mono source. klipschies are efficient--should work without a kilowatt power amp behind them.

cheers

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·