AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
2,720 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys i would like to know if the BDP-S301 is a BDP-S300 ? or why the 1?

Also why this Blu ray player and why not? pro's con's? i thought i read in the past that the ps3 was/is? the best blu ray player?

i'm trying to get as low as possible (sub $500 i think)

too confused with all the audio modes and 1.0 2.0????

i thought i'v seen charts or reviews that compares blu ray players but cant find any please help thanks in advance!

im new to blu ray please help

·
Registered
2,720 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
hey thanks for the reply i went to this thread but it quite doesnt cover what im looking for or atleast not what i seem to understand.

i saw that costco only has ps3 and the bdp-s301 which i think i want to stick to costco since if it does break down the road i can just take it in

what i gatherd is that the 300/1 sony series is slow and does not have the newest sound coding right?

also i dont have HDMI receivers i have onkyo TX-sr 600 and TX sr 701 ..... any help guys thanks in advance much apriciated

·
Registered
95 Posts
Out of those two the PS3 is the better choice. The 300 is slow, doesn't support the advanced audio codecs and is profile 1.0

Without an HDMI reciever you are limited in your audio options. If your reciever has multichannel anolog connections you could look at a player with analog multichannel outs for PCM. Otherwise you are stuck with [email protected] (which is still a higher bitrate than DVD which uses 448kbps) and [email protected] (also higher than DVD which is at the half rate of 750kbps) via bitstreaming.

But if it's out of those two players, the PS3 is the clear winner. It is the most upgradeable player, supports all audio codecs except bitstreaming of DTS-HD MA (although it does decode it), profile 2.0, fast load times and has argueably the best picture.

·
Registered
2,720 Posts
Discussion Starter #5