AVS Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
823 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

A co-worker has asked me to build him a iATX HTPC with a SSD drive for the OS, which is WinXP Pro 32-bit SP3.

I have never used SSD before, but have done lots of reading about it on AVS and elsewhere.

My rough plan for setting up the system using SSD is the following:

1. Installing and using the SSD in IDE mode, not AHCI.

2. Creating a Ramdisk partition (a drive volume that exists in RAM memory rather than a hard drive) and tweaking XP to write to it for page file, temporary internet files, print spooling, etc. This is to reduce the number of write cycles to the SSD so that it will last longer, since the number of write cycles to the SSD memory elements is finite.

See *here* for details.

3. Using a SSD vendor's TRIM ("garbage collection") tool for XP, which doesn't do TRIM automatically like Win7.

This is my preliminary plan, and this is where I ask the experts here for critique and feedback. Thanks in advance to those who reply.

·
Registered
864 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vlad Theimpaler /forum/post/20770356

Hey all,

A co-worker has asked me to build him a iATX HTPC with a SSD drive for the OS, which is WinXP Pro 32-bit SP3.

I have never used SSD before, but have done lots of reading about it on AVS and elsewhere.

My rough plan for setting up the system using SSD is the following:

1. Installing and using the SSD in IDE mode, not AHCI.

2. Creating a Ramdisk partition (a drive volume that exists in RAM memory rather than a hard drive) and tweaking XP to write to it for page file, temporary internet files, print spooling, etc. This is to reduce the number of write cycles to the SSD so that it will last longer, since the number of write cycles to the SSD memory elements is finite.

See *here* for details.

3. Using a SSD vendor's TRIM ("garbage collection") tool for XP, which doesn't do TRIM automatically like Win7.