AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new in this HDTV world. I'm trying to decide what to buy. Could some kind soul please explain why I should spend an extra $500+ to buy a 16:9 set? I understand the value of seeing the whole movie rather than 2/3 of it, but what is the advantage of a 16:9 set over a large 4:3 set displaying a letterbox image? Tell me why I should spend the extra bucks for 16:9. 16:9 looks cool, but what else will it do for me besides eliminate black bars above and below my movies? Thanks.

·
Registered
737 Posts
Do you own DVD movies? If so, going to an HDTV-ready set (the new Toshibas have really come down in price and now the Mitsubishis are dropping, too), and getting a progressive-scan DVD player (I have the JVC model - less than $350 from ecost.com) will just blow you away!

480p looks amazing on a new 16:9 set that accepts input from progressive-scan DVD players. And, with many cities now doing HDTV broadcasts OTA, your choices of programming are increasing (CBS is doing HDTV for its new fall programming and ABC just announced a slew of movies to be shown hi-def over several upcoming weeks). DISH network offers Showtime and HBO (and a PPV channel0 in HD, too, and will offer CBS-HD to those who qualify.

Sooo...the premium for a 16:9 set is well worth it, imo.

·
Registered
2,150 Posts
Not only will HDTV programming and most DVD's be able to display without the black bars on the top and bottom, but you are also getting alot more screen real estate for your extra $500. 16:9 sets are typically bigger than their 4:3 counterparts that have similar diagonal measurements. Just the cost of the extra materials has to add to the cost.

------------------

Jon
Home_Theater_Pics
My_DVD_Profiler

·
Registered
907 Posts
Neely,

This is just one of those things were there are no right answers. It is an individual choice.