AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this so please understand that while I've read and printed a tremendous amount of all this excellent site has to offer, I am at the point where all this preparation will now be turned into a hands on endeavor.

Please tell me if I can use PowerDVD 4.0 + Dscaler to output to my NEC 6PG via a breakout cable or do I need to add Powerstrip and TheaterTek first in order to feed the highest quality signal to the projector?

Understand that I've never had an HTPC or a CRT projector before so I'm just looking for the simplest quality signal route to get me to my goal of getting the NEC perfectly setup. After that I'm totally into getting all that is considered best to have in terms of the HTPC but for now I'm kinda using it as a means to an end...that being getting this NEC near it's full potential.

The HTPC is a Dell P4 2.66 with 512mb, an ATI 9000 Pro and DVD writer which just got delivered yesterday.

I'm commited to seeing some sort of a beautiful picture out of this setup by Sunday evening...even if I have to go without sleep and take steroids to accomplish that.

Thank you all.

Walter

·
Registered
9,398 Posts
HDTVplus,

Powerstrip is necessary if you need to output custom display card timings. You shouldn't have any problem with Power DVD 4 with Dscaler. However, you might be up longer than you think. Has the NEC been aligned yet? If not, you have a long road ahead of you.

Good Luck !

Bruce

·
Registered
7,137 Posts
Note: PowerDVD and dScaler serve complete different functions. One adds nothing to the other.

PowerDVD is for playing back DVD's. dScaler's for scaling up EXTERNAL sources using a TV capture card.

PowerDVD will work fine, but TheaterTek is has better picture quality and has all the built in features you'll ever need such as automatic aspect ratio control.